MATCH REPORT: Brinkhoff wins Jim Peck Memorial Trophy

The 8th staging of the Jim Peck Memorial Trophy in aid of the East Anglian Air Ambulance saw a fantastic filed of riders take to the Mill Lane circuit at Great Blakenham. 2 previous winners were in the field of 16, Adam Peck who was the inaugural winner in 2014 and the 2017, 2019 & 2020 winner Josh Brooke.

After 2 races each Peck was unbeaten on 8 points as was Lewis Brinkhoff but Peck dropped his first point of the match in his 3rd ride in heat 11 to Brooke whilst Brinkhoff won heat 12 to remain unbeaten. Peck and Ashley Hill were tied on 11 points after 3 races, the latter having dropped a point in heat 2 to Peck. Jaime Chittcok was also in contention on 10 points.

3 of the top 4 met in heat 14, Brinkhoff, Peck and Chittock. Peck held his grid one to take the win with Brinkhoff awarded 2nd place after a collision on the last bend with Jason Ashford who was excluded for obstruction, as was Chittock earlier in the race

After the 4th round of rides Brinkhoff & Peck led the way with 15 points with Hill a point further back. Of those 3 riders Peck was the first to take his last ride but fell on the exit of the 3rd bend and remounted for 1 point in a race won by Ben Clarke.

Heat 19 was the key race as Brinkhoff and Hill would meet. Hill led from the start but was passed by Brinkhoff who took the win and the title. Hills 2nd place saw him finish on 18 points with Peck completing the podium places after beating Clarke in a run-off for 3rd, both riders having scored 16 points

The awards were presented by Jim Peck’s widow Sandra, his nephew Robbie Farrow and also by 3 time British Under 19 Speedway Champion and Drew Kemp


Lewis Brinkhoff (Ipswich) 19, Ashley Hill (Ipswich) 18, Adam Peck (Gt Blakenham) 16, Ben Clarke (Ipswich) 16 (after run-off), Jamie Chittock (Gt Blakenham) 14, Matt Hill (Ipswich) 14, Fraser Garnett (Poole) 13, Tyler Brinkhoff (Ipswich) 13, James Porter (Ipswich) 11, Josh Brooke (Gt Blakenham) 11, Leon Mower (Gt Blakenham) 10, Kevin Burns (Leicester) 9, Wil Bristowe (Poole) 9, Harvey Young (Gt Blakenham) 8, Jason Ashford (Gt Blakenham) 8, Owen Wells (Ipswich) 8

Referee: Terry Ashford

Before the main event a Junior Individual took place and this was won by Norwich rider Connor Jarrett with a 20 point maximum