MATCH REPORT: Northern Riders Championship

On Sunday, Cramlington hosted the Northern Riders Championship. 51 riders took part in the various categories, and the large crowd saw some exciting cycle speedway racing throughout the day.

After a night of heavy rain, and showers first thing, it was good news to see the superb drainage had left the surface in perfect shape. Thanks to Mick Parr and others who worked hard on Saturday and Sunday. After over 100 races the track was still in A1 condition.

Racing started at 11.30 with the under 10s. Six riders took part, Charlie Wood of Hull winning his four rides. Next up was the under 13s, unbeaten James Bunting of Sheffield took the honours.
Next came a hotly contested under 16 meeting. After the twelve heats, Niall Morton and Adam Watson of Sheffield had 15 points, and the unfortunate Sam Schofield had 13, despite a first race fall. Morton won the run off after a good gate from the inside.

12 veterans took part in a strongly contested 19 heats. Home favourite Gavin (no pain, no gain) Parr was unbeaten with 20, closely followed by team mate Jason Keith with 19. Darren Kent of Heckmondwike just pipped Mark Mulvey for third, so preventing a Northumbria clean sweep.

Unfortunately only three riders competed in the ladies competition, Christine Amos-Adams of Northumbria pipped Sheffield’d Niamh Morton by one point to take the title.

The big one saw an entry of 20 riders for the 16 places, and a complex qualifier of 16 heats took place to decide the final riders.

By far the best riding seen at the new track saw incident in all the races, with no quarter asked or given. Pawel Idzorek of Heckmondwike and his electic gating dropped just one point to Bobby McMillan to take the title. Second was Sheffield’s Damien Zareba, who defeated Ben Scarange of Bury in a run off.

Thanks to referees, Darren Kent, Graham Lush, Andy Schofield and Keith Dyer Steve Wickes, ex Newcastle Diamonds, for presenting the awards. To all Northumbria members for their hard work throughout the long day, Mark Mulvey and Linda for the raffle prizes, the two ladies from Cramlington Learning Village for the food, our sponsors, and all the riders and their families for a wonderful day.

Northern Riders Championship

1. Pawel Idzorek Heckmondwike 19
2. Damien Zareba Sheffield 17
3. Ben Scarange Bury 17
4. Aiden Owen Sheffield 15
5 Gavin Parr Northumbria 14
5 Chris Parrish Bury 14
7 Richard Hudson Sheffield 13
7 Jack Lush Stockport 13
9 Kyle Holland Sheffield 12
10 Bobby McMillan Sheffield 11
11 Mikey Hewitson Edinburgh 10
11 Adam Watson Sheffield 10
11 Jake Read Stockport 10
14 Matt Lush Stockport 8
15 Matt Parrott Sheffield 7
16 Niall Morton Sheffield 6

A full report of the under 19 meeting will be given asap.
Report by Keith Dyer, Northumbria CSC.