NEWS: Monarchs toast to 2014

Birmingham Monarchs held their presentation night at Hamstead Social Club last night. A good attendance saw the Monarchs first team pick up their trophies for the Midland Division One triumph.

Coventry and ex-Monarch rider Joe McLaughlin presented the awards with the help of Lee Marsh as the youngsters also shined on the night with Emily Pitt picking up most improved rider of the year as well as Marc Phipps and Connor Steele getting the limelight after the duo had a stellar season in the BYJL.

Nathan Groves collected Managers Rider of the Year and special mentions were made to Andy James and Carl Winwood who cameback to the sport this season and injected a good team spirit on and off the shale.

Also acknowledged was the work done off the track. Steve Hodgkinson was awarded for the work he has put in with the youngsters and also managing the third division side. Also Alison Hancox, Natalie Timms and Michelle Steele were rightly acknowledged as the trio do alot of work behind the scenes and at the track and it was great to see them recognised.

Birmingham also announced the signing of Ricki Johnson and Ieuan Payne for next season. Johnson comes over from near neighbours Wednesfield and will make the first team, which was strong this season, look even more formidable in 2015.

Ieuan Payne moves over from Underwood. The young Welsh rider will no doubt gain alot of experience riding for Birmingham alongside fellow Welsh riders Mark Winwood and Nathan Groves and will be an exciting prospect.