TEAM GB: Squad announced

Team GB manager, Dave Murphy, has released news of his squad for the forthcoming Ashes Series – the first ever on British soil, starting in 8 weeks time.

Murphy told 33/18 News, “The following riders are named in my Great Britain squad for 2015 Ashes Test Match Series against Australia and for the ICSF Federation Cup:

Paul Heard (captain) – Wednesfield
Mark Boaler (vice-captain) – Horspath
Andy Angell – Hull
Lee Aris – Wednesfield
Josh Brooke – Ipswich
Mark Carmichael – Newport
Nick Evans – Newport
Myke Grimes – Coventry
Steve Harris – Poole
Ricki Johnson – Birmingham
Ben Mould – Wednesfield
Lewis Osborne – Horspath
Chris Parish – Bury
Adam Peck – Ipswich
Matt Smith – Birmingham
Chris Timms – Birmingham
Gavin Wheeler – Poole

“This squad includes a number of established names, forming the core of the squad, with the addition of some new faces, who I will be expecting to establish themselves as GB riders during this series.

Murphy continued, “I’ve also taken into consideration track specialists who I know will perform well at this level and I’m most pleased to include riders such as Lewis Osborne, Adam Peck and Nick Evans who have pushed open the door of opportunity and forced their way into contention during the past few weeks.

“The selected riders need to continue to work hard over the next 7 weeks, whilst we head towards this exciting first ever Ashes Series to be held in the UK, as I intend to include those riders who can demonstrate that they have most to offer in standing up to the Australian challenge.

“I congratulate all the squad members whilst I offer commiserations to those ‘hopefuls’ who missed out by acknowledging that a lot of riders have worked hard and demonstrated great desire to be part of Team GB.

“I am fortunate to have so many talented riders at my disposal and I’m confident that those I have selected will meet the challenge ahead.”