MATCH REPORT: Hawks still unbeaten in South East Division One

Hethersett Hawks/Swinton & Co continued their unbeaten start to the season in South East League Division 1, by completing the double over Great Blakenham. Both teams had key riders missing but the Hawks were able to draft in Jason Barker, making his debut after a winter transfer, Rob Warminger, making his home debut and Roger Carter for his first outing of the season. Blakenham called up Sam Turland for a rare outing.

By the time late arrival Jonjo Slaughter took his place in heat 8 his side were already trailing by 22 points but he was then able to add a bit of spice to the attack in support of unbeaten Lewis Osborne. The Hawks did not lose a race until heat 14 which had a couple of exclusions before being awarded a 4-3 win to the visitors. That proved to be the only heat defeat for the rampant home side well led by Leigh Cossey. Dave Adams showed his value to the side with a team-riding bonus point in each of his five races.

The unbeaten run will give the side confidence going into the tough away trip to Ipswich Eagles on July 5th.

Leigh Cossey 21+1 (6) Jason Barker 17+1 (6) Olly Buxton 16+2 (6) Lee Grange 15+2 (5) Dave Adams 13+5 (5) Rob Warminger 13+1 (5) Roger Carter 9+2 (3)

Lewis Osborne 24 (6) Steve Johnson 13 (6) Gavin Whitehouse 10+1 (6) Terry Ashford 9+1 (6) Jonjo Slaughter 8 (4) Sam Turland 7 (6)

Referee – Katie Adams

The Division 2 march was much more exciting and full of incident. Hethersett looked to have done enough as they led by nine points with three heats remaining but a heavy fall for Adam Reeve put him out of a rerun heat 11 that resulted in a tactical 7-2 win for the visitors.

Terry Ashford steered Steve Johnson home for a 7-3 next out and suddenly the scores were level going into the nominated riders’ race. It took four restarts to this key race before Blakenham emerged from bend one with a lead but Olly Buxton and Dave Adams battled through to follow unbeaten Jonjo Slaughter home for a share of the spoils.

Dave Adams 14+3 (5) Olly Buxton 11 (3) Katie Adams 9 (4) Adam Reeve 8+1 (4) Daniel Longlands 8 (4) Giles Awbery 6+1 (4) Roger Carter 6 (2)

Jonjo Slaughter 18+2 (5) Sam Turland 14 (5) Stev Johnson 11 (4) Gavin Whitehouse 10 (4) Terry Ashford 9+2 (4)

Referees – various

This Sunday 15 Hethersett riders will be at Eaton Park contesting seven Norfolk titles. Racing gets under way qt 1 p.m.