TEAM GB: Preliminary Squad Announcement

After a high interest from riders to be part of the Great Britain squad to tour Australia in November 2017, the perspective managers have selected their initial preliminary squad.

Managers will work close with the preliminary squads along with Stuart Raven as GB’s Head Coach throughout the coming months and 2017 season.

The selection for the final GB team is to be made in September 2017. This selection process allows managers to work with the preliminary squad and while there will be disappointments for some this ultimately allow the managers to identify their best formulated team to be successful in Australia.

The GB Managers / Coaching team congratulate the riders who have made the initial preliminary squads and look forward to the challenge ahead. Thank you to all the riders who have expressed an interest. Until next year, We wish you all a merry Christmas and we toast to a successful 2017.

The squads are:

Senior Mens

Josh Brooke, Mark Carmichael, Myke Grimes, Jack Harrold, Paul Heard, Ben Higham, Ashley Hill, Matthew Hill, Dean Hook, Lee Kemp, Ben Mould, Lewis Osbourne, Zac Payne, Jake Read, Charlie Rumbold, Matt Smith, Chris Timms


Tyler Brinkoff, James Bunting, Devon Campbell, Ben Clarke, Fraser Garnett, Alex Harvey, Will Jeffery, Josh Marsh, Ollie Morris, Ed Morton, Carl Parfitt, Haydn Rowley, Ben Tinsdale, Adam Watson, Ciaran Wenn, Brandon Whetton, Jake White


Bethany Briggs, Lily Gedge, Charlie-Jane Herbert, Gemma Hill, Lauren Hookway, Sammie Marsh, Sophie Middleton, Krissy Mines, Niamh Morton, Chloe Pearce, Lizzie Rigley, Maddie Saunders, Macie Schmidt, Laura Watson, Jenna Whitehead, Michelle Whitehead

Women’s boss Geoff Gamage also commented: “Womens Team GB has invited all those who have expressed an interest in going to Adelaide for the tour next year to attend the newly set up Womens Team GB Performance and Development squad, which will be the foundation not only for next years tour but beyond.

“There are about 8 riders not going to Australia that will be invited as well. The complete list will be issued after the Indoor. As for the actual team squad, 8 places have been selected and the riders informed so that they can start fund raising, leaving one or two spaces available. These I don’t envisage selecting before June, it really depends on who the 9th rider is whether I pick 10 or not.

“I can confirm Michelle Whitehead and Niamh Morton are the two added to the six selected previously, Lauren Hookway, Charlie Jane Herbert, Kristina Mines, Elizabeth Rigley, Macie Schmidt and Laura Watson.

“With World Champion skipper Vicky Brown unavailable and vice captain Lucy Whitehead also unlikely to go we will have to name deputies for one or both of them once the full squad is completed.

“Footnote to those not on that list at present; for the 2013 tour, three selections withdrew and were replaced plus of course there are still selections to make. The door is open to anyone who makes themselves available for the squad, whilst the final squad is not announced.”