MATCH REPORT: North West Youth League great success at Gin Pit

46 riders competed at Astley and Tyldesley on Saturday morning, in the first of the six rounds of the North West Youth League, which welcomes riders from other cycling clubs. The riders enjoyed a thirty minutes coaching session taken by A&T Coach Will Evans, before embarking on racing. Early morning bright sunshine made way for a steady drizzle by the end of the first match.

In the U8s match, home riders Frank White and Aiden Green raced unbeaten in the qualifiers, before taking 1st and 2nd places respectively in the Grand Prix ‘A’ Final, ahead of Harry Ball of Salt Ayre Cog Set.

U8 Grand Prix Finals:

A Final: 1st Frank White (Astley & Tyldesley), 2nd Aiden Green (Astley & Tyldesley), 3rd Harry Ball (Salt Ayre Cog Set), 4th Freddie Cox (Astley & Tyldesley).

B Final: 1st Christopher Frank (Bolton Hot Wheels), 2nd Jake Honeysett (Salt Ayre Cog Set), 3rd James Sutton (Bolton Hot Wheels), 4th Tyler Williams (Harry Middleton).

A&T’s Duncan Whalley went through the card unbeaten in the U10s event. Megan Lloyd of Harry Middleton CC was runner-up, ahead of Jonathan Frank of Bolton Hot Wheels.

WATCH: U8s action from the North West Youth League

U10 Grand Prix Finals:

A Final: 1st Duncan Whalley (Astley & Tyldesley); 2nd Megan Lloyd (Harry Middleton); 3rd Jonathan Frank (Bolton Hot Wheels); 4th Oliver Ball (Salt Ayre Cog Set).

B Final: 1st Fraser Brundrett (Astley & Tyldesley); 2nd Fraser Cummings (Buxton CC); 3rd Alex Sutton (Bolton Hot Wheels); 4th Elliott Pitlovits (Bolton Hot Wheels).

C Final: 1st Kaden Williams (Harry Middleton CC); 2nd Oscar Belt (Astley & Tyldesley); 3rd Esme Glossop (Bolton Hot Wheels).

Reigning British U10 Grand Prix Champion, John White of Astley & Tyldesley, raced unbeaten in the U12s category. Morgan Williams, of Salt Ayre Cog Set, also raced unbeaten in the qualifiers, before finishing 2nd in the final, ahead of Ethan Grimshaw, of Eastlands Velo.

U12 Grand Prix Finals:

A Final: 1st John White (Astley & Tyldesley); 2nd Morgan Williams (Salt Ayre Cog Set); 3rd Ethan Grimshaw (Eastlands Velo); 4th George Croasdale-Clegg (Red Rose Olympic).

B Final: 1st Archie Honeysett (Salt Ayre Cog Set); 2nd Harry Clegg (Bolton Hot Wheels); 3rd Ben Pitlovits (Bolton Hot Wheels); 4th Monty Nelhams (Salt Ayre Cog Set).

C Final: 1st Emilia Wood (Salt Ayre Cog Set); 2nd Dan Eastham (Red Rose Olympic); 3rd Imogen Peatfield (Bolton Hot Wheels); 4th Neve Laycock (Bolton Hot Wheels).

D Final: 1st Shaun Laycock (Bolton Hot Wheels); 2nd Isla Glossop (Bolton Hot Wheels).

With just three entrants for the U16s event, the U14 and U16 riders combined for the qualifiers, before racing in separate finals. Astley & Tyldesley’s British U14 Grand Prix Champion, Max Evans, raced unbeaten in the qualifiers, before taking the win in the U16 Final.

Tyler Koch, of Mossley CRT, was 2nd in the U16 Final, ahead of Melissa Boylin, of Sportcity Velo. Ben Peatfield, of Green Jersey RT and Callum Williams of Salt Ayre Cog Set, both scored 14 points in the U14 qualifiers and went on to take 1st and 2nd places respectively in the final, with Jake Edwards, of Salt Ayre Cog Set finishing 3rd.

U-14 Grand Prix Finals:

A Final: 1st Ben Peatfield (Green Jersey RT); 2nd Callum Williams (Salt Ayre Cog Set); 3rd Jake Edwards (Salt Ayre Cog Set); 4th John Roberts (Salt Ayre Cog Set).

B Final: 1st Tom Lees (Salt Ayre Cog Set); 2nd William Dykes (Salt Ayre Cog Set); 3rd Nancye Roberts (Salt Ayre Cog Set); 4th Erin Corrigan (Liverpool Century).

C Final: 1st Rhys Davies (Preston Pirates); 2nd Cameron Wood (Salt Ayre Cog Set).
U-16 Grand Prix Final:

A Final: 1st Max Evans (Astley & Tyldesley); 2nd Tyler Koch (Mossley CRT); 3rd Melissa Boylin (Sportcity Velo).

Referees – Catherine White and Chas Whalley.