TEAM GB: Senior squad announced for 2017 ICSF Worlds in Australia

The Great Britain management have announced their senior squad for the upcoming World Championships in Adelaide. The squad has been reduced from an original 17 that was selected earlier in the year to a 12 man squad. Competition has been fierce with Great Britain having an abundance of quality riders making the trip to Australia.

The Great Britain men will compete in a three test-match series against Australia and one match against Poland. The GB team will also defend their ICSF Federation Cup title.

The team is captained by Paul Heard, who led team GB to victories over Poland this year and a test victory over Australia in 2015. The squad includes Elite Grand Prix winner Josh Brooke, the three most recent British Champions Myke Grimes (2017), Ben Mould (2016) and Zac Payne (2015), in fact majority of the squad have appeared on the British final podium.

Great Britain team at the 2015 ICSF World Championships by Ray Andrews

Team manager, Lee Aris, commented: “We’ve selected some incredibly talented riders, the selection process has been extremely difficult with so many top riders making the trip to Australia.

“It’s now up to them to grasp this opportunity and produce a performance that will make their nation proud. I know we are more than capable of winning with the ability we have within the squad”.

Great Britain squad:

  • Paul Heard – Captain
  • Josh Brooke
  • Myke Grimes
  • Jack Harrold
  • Ashley Hill
  • Lee Kemp
  • Ben Mould
  • Lewis Osbourne
  • Zac Payne
  • Charlie Rumbold
  • Matt Smith
  • Chris Timms

Great Britain Manager: Lee Aris

Great Britain Head Coach: Stuart Raven

Follow all the action from the ICSF World Championships in Australia on 33/18 News. The tour lasts between 13 November – 3 December 2017.

Cover photo by Andy Whitehouse.