MATCH REPORT: Manchester League GP Round 4 at Stockport

Stockport hosted Round 4 of the Manchester League Grand Prix series on a cold Wednesday evening. Astley & Tyldesley took their fourth win of the series in Division 2, whilst Stockport won the Division 1 match to draw level with A&T, with two rounds remaining.

A&T’s Duncan Whalley raced to a 16 points maximum in the u-10s category, twice passing team mate Aiden Green in exciting races. In the u-13s match, Bury’s Harry Radford raced to a 16 points maximum score. The u-16s and u-19s were combined, with scores retrospectively adjusted. A&T’s Max Evans top scored on the track with 14 points, joined by Stockport’s Louis Wright after points adjustment.

Manchester League Division 2 match result (top 5 scorers count only to their team totals)

Astley & Tyldesley 72 Stockport 57 Bury 45

U-10s: Duncan Whalley (A&T) 16, Tom Beeley (A&T) 14, Aiden Green (A&T) 14, Lewis Skitterall (A&T) 13, Tom Dunphy (Bury) 12, Sam Dunphy (Bury) 10, Freddy Warn
(A&T) 9, Oscar Belt (A&T) 9, Bobby Dunphy (Bury) 7, Myles Grantham (A&T) 6.

U-13s: Harry Radford (Bury) 16, Tom Morrissey (A&T) 14, Charlie Burgess (A&T) 14, Harry Hulme (Stockport) 10, Chloe Warn (A&T) 9, Lucy Grantham (A&T) 7.

U-16s: Louis Wright (Stockport) 14, Max Evans (A&T) 14, Devon Campbell (Stockport) 13, Michael Preston (Stockport) 12, Daniel Mason (Stockport) 8, Emily
Burgess (A&T) 7

U-19s: Ciaran Collins (A&T) 12.

Referees – Graham Lush and Ben Higham.

Sheffield’s Adam Watson raced to a maximum score in the Senior match. Stockport’s Ben Higham was beaten only by Watson in the last race, whilst A&T’s Reece Pollitt was beaten only by Higham in heat 7.

Manchester League Division 1 match result (top 5 scorers count only to their team totals)

Stockport 49 Astley & Tyldesley 26 Sheffield 24


Adam Watson (Sheffield) 16, Reece Pollitt (A&T) 15, Ben Higham (Stockport) 15, Michael Preston (Stockport) 13, Max Evans (A&T) 11, Devon Campbell (Stockport) 11, Louis Wright (Stockport) 10, Laura Watson (Sheffield) 8, Tom Bewick (Independent) 6.

Referee – Graham Lush.