MATCH REPORT: Dash Trophies Midland GP at Wednesfield

Ashmore Park, Wednesfield was the setting for the Dash Trophjes Midland Grands Prix with events for Under 23, Veteran & Open. The Under 23 event opened proceedings and after 2 rides each Brandon Whetton (Wednesfield), Will Jeffrey (Horspath) & Reece Pollitt (A&T) were all undefeated. All 3 met in an action packed heat 12 which saw Ipswich rider Richard Felgett lower the colours of all 3 by winning the race from Whetton, Jeffrey & Pollitt. 2nd place in heat 12 was the only point which Whetton dropped as he won his last 2 races to clinch the title with 19 points, 1 point ahead of Felgett who also was undefeated in his last 2 races as was Pollitt who took 3rd

Brandon Whetton (Wednesfield) 19, Richard Felgett (Ipswich) 18, Reece Pollitt (Astley & Tyldesley) 17, Ed Morton (Edinburgh) 16, Will Jeffrey (Horspath) 16, Tyler Bould (Wednesfield) 15, Adam Watson (Coventry) 14, Nathan Everett (Hull) 13, Cameron Gill (Coventry) 12, Lewis Brinkhoff (Ipswich) 10, Tyler Brinkhoff (Ipswich) 10, James Porter (Ipswich) 9, Harrie Everiss (Wednesfield) 9, Lewis Foxley (Edinburgh) 8, Damian Pelaczyk (Leicester) 6, Owen Wells (Ipswich) 5

Referee: Wayne Aris

The Veterans were next on track and Birmingham’s Mark Winwood clinched the title, dropping only 1 point to Leicester’s Craig Marchant when the 2 riders met in heat 3. Marchant was undefeated in the races he completed (he failed to finish in heat 16) and took 2nd place after a 4 rider run-off which he won ahead of his fellow Leicester riders Mark & Craig Whitehead as well as Edinburgh’s Jason Keith

Mark Winwood (Birmingham) 19, Craig Marchant (Leicester) 16, Mark Whitehead (Leicester) 16, Craig Whitehead (Leicester) 16, Jason Keith (Edinburgh) 16, Nicky Whitehead (Leicester) 14, Dave Murphy (Exeter) 14, Steve Harris (Astley & Tyldesley) 13, Jason Ashford (Great Blakenham) 11, Paddy Wenn (Norwich) 10, Luke Morton (Sheffield) 10, Paul Timms (Birmingham) 9, Phil Hemming (Wednesfield) 9, James Collier (Newport) 8, Steve Copping (Norwich) 8

Referee: Andy Parfitt

The Open event rounded off the action and saw Birmingham’s Chris Timms clinch victory, losing only once to Gt Blakenham’s Josh Brooke. World Champion Ben Mould (Horspath) took the runner-up spot after defeating Brooke in a run-off. A special mention to Owen Wells, Reece Pollitt, Tyler Bould & Ed Morton who doubled up by riding in this event, all 4 having ridden in the Under 23 event earlier.

Chris Timms (Birmingham) 19, Ben Mould (Horspath) 18, Josh Brooke (Gt Blakenham) 18, Lukas Nowacki (Horspath) 17, Paul Heard (Birmingham) 16, Zac Payne (Horspath) 14, Chris Jewkes (Wednesfield) 13, Leon Mower (Gt Blakenham) 12, Ben Clarke (Ipswich) 11, Ashley Hill (Ipswich) 11, Reece Pollitt (Astley & Tyldesley) 11, Ricki Johnson (Birmingham) 10, Ed Morton (Edinburgh) 8, Tyler Bould (Wednesfield) 8, Owen Wells (Ipswich) 6, Jake Steel (Birmingham) 5

Referee: Wayne Aris