MATCH REPORT: Orchid Eurovets Round 1

2014 ORCHID Euro Vets got off to a good start at Horspath under TLI Cycling banner.

25 riders turned out over the categories despite weather warnings and that the meeting was in jeopardy only 24hrs earlier due to the track being waterlogged. Track curator Gordon Clarke managed to get a good racing surface and the series was underway.

The over 40’s saw a couple of new riders in Mark Winwood and Martyn Hollebon it was the Birmingham rider, Winwood, who showed that he has maintained the very good form shown in Australia during the winter to head the qualifiers. Mark Griffiths was also in fine fettle, whilst the last two A Final places eventually went to Norman Venson and Dave Frith, the latter always goes well around The Village.

Martyn Hollebon settled for winning the B.Final from Pete Chant, Dave meanley and Jason Keith. Winwood took the A from Norman Venson, Dave Frith and Mark Griffiths.

Over 40s scorers – M.Winwood 25, N.Venson 23, D.Frith 22, M.Griffiths 21, M.Hollebon 20, P.Chant 18, J.Keith 17, D.Meanley 16, J.Burke 13, M.Knowles 11,M.Glover 10, J.Collier 10, W.Aris 8.

The Over 50 / 60 event was raced jointly with Paul Timms and Mick Aris leading the way after that there was a mighty scramble between Steve Hodgkinson, Phil hemmings and Joe Mclaughlin, the latter surviving a spectacular fall to win the re run with some clever tactical racing to get into the mix for the A Final. Terry Kirkup also rode well with both Steve Mullinder and Fred Rothwell consistent. Kev Marson rued a first race spin off the gate as he was chasing the pack from then on.

The 50 A Final saw Paul Timms take the flag after a fine pass round the first bend Phil hemming nipped into second from Mick Aris and Joe Mclaughlin the latter three places changing hands frequently. Steve Hodgkinson took the B, Mick Aris raced away with the over 60 from Terry Kirkup, Fred Rothwell and Jon Graham.

Over 50 scorers – P.Timms 25, P.Hemming 23, M.Aris 22, J.McLaughlin 21, S.Hodgkinson 20, T.Kirkup 18 S.Mullinder 17, F.Rothwell 16, K.Marson 12, P.Matthews 12, J.Graham 10, D.Mould 9.

Over 60 scorers – M.Aris 25, T.Kirkup 23, F.Rothwell 22, J.Graham 21.