MATCH REPORT: Whirlwinds unbeaten as they wrap up successful campaign

Ipswich Whirlwinds finished their championship winning season at home to Kesgrave Panthers, and with the title already wrapped up they were looking to finish unbeaten for the season.

Both sets of teams fielded slightly weaken teams today and after the opening four heats only four points separated the two sides. However, the champions elect then stepped up a notch to reel off five heats in a row to go in at half time 56-34 .

The home team welcomed back Lauren Jacobs, who last rode here at Ipswich in the Women’s Club event. She was in sparkling form as she picked up three race wins on her way to an impressive eighteen point haul, while there were further outings for Mark Debman and Phil Clarke as they continued their steady progress in their first full season in the South East One. The two big pluses this season, Pierce Bacon and Ben Harvey, once again gave faultless performances. Not forgetting the contribution made by senior riders Leon Mower, Jamie Chittock, Josh Brooke and Lewis Roberts throughout the season, it’s easy to see why the Whirlwinds have been so dominant in this season’s campaign.

Kesgrave themselves have had a good campaign and have faired better than they first might have expected and with the likes of Brown, Ingram and Zagni to build an up and coming crop of young riders. Their future also looks bright for some years to come, with James Johnson in his first season, he will only improve with every match as he grows in confidence. One rider who seems to be enjoying his racing again is Ray Pyke, who as benefited from his move from local rivals Great Blakenham.

Finally, I would like to thank all the clubs who have taken part in this season’s league racing and look forward to locking horns next season. The new format has worked this season to allow teams to be more competitive, I still think it could be improved with some slight tinkering.

Ipswich Whirlwinds 108
Pierce Bacon 18+2 (5) , Lauren Jacobs 18 (6) , Leon Mower 17+2 (6), Ben Harvey 17+1 (5), Jamie Chittock 16+4 (5), Mark Debman 13 (6), Phil Clarke 9 (3)

Kesgrave Panthers 72
Gary Brown 16+2 (6), Ray Pyke 16 (6), James Johnson 15 (6), Luke Gifkins 6 (3), Graham Long 5+1 (4), Tyler Brinkhoff 5 (4), John Oakley 5 (4), Charlie Long 4 (3)