MATCH REPORT: A&T 25th Anniversary meeting

Astley & Tyldesley Cycling Club celebrated their 25th anniversary season in fine style at a hot and sunny Gin Pit on Saturday. A full programme of racing was held, catering for riders of all ages and abilities, with riders travelling from afar as Norwich and Swindon to compete. Official guests present were: The Mayor of Wigan, Councillor Phyll Cullen; Deputy Lieutenant, David Walton; Chair of Sport Leigh, Paul Costello; Vice President of the Rotary Club of Astley, Oleh Bukschowanyj; British Cycling North West Development Manager, Alex Scoular.

A&T’s former European Champion, Damian Zareba, picked himself up after a heavy fall to win the deciding last race against Stockport’s Ben Higham and Bury’s Ben Scranage in the fastest time of the day, 42.50 seconds. This gave him victory in the main event of the day, the Senior Individual, with a maximum score. Three riders tied for 2nd place, after scoring 18 points apiece. In the run-off, A&T’s Reece Pollitt sped away to win and take 2nd place overall in the event, finishing ahead of Scranage and Higham. Swindon’s Jon Bailey acquitted himself well on his first visit to Gin Pit, finishing one point ahead of Bury’s Neil Howarth, who rode in the opening match at Gin Pit in 1991. Stockport’s Jake Read pulled out with a leg injury, after a heavy fall in heat 7.

Astley & Tyldesley 25th Anniversary Senior Individual result
Damian Zareba (A&T) 20, Reece Pollitt (A&T) 18, Ben Scranage (Bury) 18, Ben Higham (Stockport) 18, Jim Bailey (Swindon) 16, Neil Howarth (Bury) 15, Ryan Livesey (Bury) 13, Kyle Holland (Sheffield) 13, Lee Phillips (A&T) 11, Jake Neighbour (Swindon) 10, Gareth Paine (A&T) 10, Jon Quarmby (A&T) 10, Jamie Medler (Norwich) 8, Josh Hill (East Park) 7, Jake Read (Stockport) 3.
Referee – Mike Hack.

Bury’s Danny Taylor won the Intermediate Individual, scoring an unbeaten 20 points. Runner-up was A&T’s Max Evans with 18 points, whilst Bury’s James Elston finished 3rd with 17 points. The last race was decisive, as a fall for the previously unbeaten Elston proved costly, when he clashed with Taylor, who went on to win the race, whilst Evans came through to take 2nd place. There were strong performances from Gareth Paine and Ciaran Collins (16 points each) and Mark Grantham and Jon Quarmby (15 points each).

Astley & Tyldesley 25th Anniversary Intermediate Individual result
Danny Taylor (Bury) 20, Max Evans (A&T) 18, James Elston (Bury) 17, Ciaran Collins (A&T) 16, Gareth Paine (A&T) 16, Mark Grantham (A&T) 15, Jon Quarmby (A&T) 15, Adam Turnbull (Bury) 12, Michael Preston (Stockport) 12, Devon Campbell (Stockport) 11, Sam Haines (Sheffield) 10, Kaysor Mohammedi (Bury) 10, Josh Hill (East Park) 10, Dan Rushton (Sheffield) ns.
Referee – Bill Phillips.

Swindon’s Alice Neighbour took the win in a hard fought Girls Individual match. A&T’s Emily Burgess finished 2nd, a last race fall also ending her chances of victory. Angel Etheridge of Bury took the win in the u-10 Girls Individual, ahead of A&T’s Lucy Grantham.

Astley & Tyldesley 25th Anniversary Girls Individual result
Alice Neighbour (Swindon) 14, Emily Burgess (A&T) 13, Alice Unwin (Sheffield) 9.
Astley & Tyldesley 25th Anniversary U-10 Girls Individual result
Angel Etheridge (Bury) 14, Lucy Grantham (A&T) 10, Kaci Neath (Bury) 8, Hermoine Whalley (Bury) 8.
Referee – Bill Phillips.

In the Junior Individual, Bury’s first year rider Kaysor Mohammedi took the victory, again with a 20 points maximum score. A&T’s John White was runner-up, on 18 points. Three riders tied for 3rd place, after scoring 17 points. Sheffield’s Jack Brownell won the run-off, ahead of A&T’s Joe Quarmby and Bury’s Daniel Miller.

Astley & Tyldesley 25th Anniversary Junior Individual result
Kaysor Mohammedi (Bury) 20, John White (A&T) 18, Jack Brownell (Sheffield) 17, Joe Quarmby (A&T) 17, Daniel Miller (Bury) 17, Sean Etheridge (Bury) 15, Harry Radford (Bury) 14, Charlie Dickinson (A&T) 13, Joe Brownell (Sheffield) 12, Jack Murray (A&T) 10, Charlie Burgess (A&T) 10, Luke HIll (A&T) 9, Lewis Habib (Bury) 9, Jonah Clare (A&T) 7, Thom Deakin (Bury) 7, Duncan Whalley (Bury) 5.
Referee – Bill Phillips.

It was a splendid day’s racing, in a really good atmosphere, as a large number of people attended to celebrate the A&T Club’s 25th anniversary.

Picture by Linda Kirkland.