MATCH REPORT: Suffolk riders lead the way in East Anglian Championships

Hethersett Hawks/Swinton & Co brought down the curtain on the 2015 season at the Memorial Playing Field when they staged the East Anglian Championships.

There were some excellent performances from Hethersett riders but all the titles were captured by riders from over the Suffolk border. Dan Chambers came the closest to a title as he contested a race-off for second place after both he and Ipswich’s Ash Hill had scored 14 points.

A first-bend collision from which Chambers seemed to come out best was brought back to the start and Hill made no mistake in the rerun to consign the Hethersett rider to a creditable third place on the podium. Others to impress were Leo Mallet (fourth in the Under-10s), Danel Longlands (sixth in the Undere-13s) and Owen Wells (fourth in the Under-16s).

The new champions are Archie Foote (Kesgrave – Under-10s) Lewis Brinkhoff (Kesgrave – Under-13s) Ben Harvey (Ipswich – Under-16s) Matt Hill (Ipswich – Under-19s) and Josh Brooke (Ipswich – Seniors).

After a successful season the Hawks can now look forward to their Golden Jubilee celebrations in 2016. However, a priority this winter will be to secure a new sponsor as their grateful 11-year support from Swinton & Co has come to an end.



Archie Fooye (Kesgrave) 20 Noah Woodhouse (Kesgrace) 17 Charlie Parr (Kesgrave) 17 Leo Mallett (Hethersett) 14 Liam Frew (Norwich) 12 Oliver Baker (Kesgrave) 10.


Lewis Brinkhoff (Kesgrave) 24 Jake Vincent (Kesgrave) 21 Ben Clarke (Ipswich) 21 Gemma Hill (Ipswich) 17 Charlie Johnson (Ipswich) 17 Daniel Longlands (Hethersett) 13 Alfie Nixon (Hethersett) 12 Charlie Parr (Kesgrave) 10 Leo Mallett (Hethersett) 7 Giles Awbery (Hethersett) 6.


Ben Harvey (Ipswich) 24 Alex Harvey (Ipswich) 22 Lewis Brinkhoff (Kesgrave) 20 Owen Wells (Hethersett) 16 Charlie Long (Kesgrave) 15 Jay Berry (Kesgrave) 15 Jake Vincent (Kesgrave) 13 Ben Clarke (Ipswich) 11 Evan Vincent (Kesgrave) 7 Alfie Holmes (Hethersett) 7.

Senior / Under-19

Josh Brooke (Ipswich) 16 Ash Hill (Ipswich) 14 Dan Chambers (Jethersett) 14 Matt Hill (Ipswich) 13 (U19 -1st) Richie Fellgett (Ipswich) 12 (U19 – 2nd) Gary Brown (Kesgrave) 10 Leigh Cossey (Hethersett) 10 Ben Harvey (Ipswich) 9 (U19 – 3rd) Harley Hamill (Hethersett) 8 Jamie Medler (Norwich) 7 Owen Wells (Hethersett) 7 Sam Crossley (Hethersett) 4 Katie Adams (Hethersett) 3.

Referees – Katie Adams, Kevin Wells