NEWS: Elite League 2016 clubs confirmed

British Cycling today announced the line up for the 2016 Elite League series, which sees two new teams enter the fold.

Sheffield and Newport indicated earlier in the month that they would not be re-entering for 2016, which has paved the way for Midland clubs Birmingham and Coventry to come forward.

However, all clubs must fulfil strict criteria by 1st March 2016, or risk being ineligible to enter the series. The criteria includes having a B grade registered referee at the club and be sufficiently on the way to being Clubmark accredited, which includes having qualified coaches at each club. Various other conditions such as toilets and changing rooms are also required.

The six teams were ratified at Sunday’s commission meeting, where the strict rules were¬†implemented after some clubs failed to meet the previously set high standards of league entry. The Elite League teams are meant to set an example in every area for other clubs to follow, as the commission endeavour to push the sport forwards through excellence.

The six teams that have been provisionally accepted are:

  • Birmingham
  • Coventry
  • Horspath
  • Ipswich
  • Poole
  • Wednesfield
Australian star, Cody Chadwick makes his way to Suffolk for 2016.

Australian star, Cody Chadwick makes his way to Suffolk for 2016.

With Birmingham and Coventry entering the league, it will see Wednesfield and Horspath lose a key rider or two, which could level up the competition nicely. Some early confirmed rider news sees Ipswich welcome Australian international Cody Chadwick, which will bolster their attack. We will watch with interest to see where the UKs top riders end up over the winter.