MATCH REPORT: Astley & Tyldesley’s unlucky run of injuries continues

Astley & Tyldesley took on Northern League Division 1 leaders, Edinburgh, at Gin Pit on Sunday.

The first three races were all drawn heats. Heat 4 saw A&T suffer a major blow, when Lee Phillips sustained a broken wrist after a first bend clash with Jake Slight. With no reserve to replace him, A&T were forced to ride the rest of the match a man short.

Edinburgh took a 7-2 in the re-run, to take the lead. A&T however battled gamely, sharing the next three heats, to make the score 32-37 after heat 7.

The second half saw the Scots take control and they recorded five maximum heat wins, to end up emphatic 88-56 winners.

Reece Pollitt was best for A&T with three race wins, whilst Paul Graham opened with two race wins. Edinburgh had a solid scoring outfit, with all seven riders making a sound contribution.

A&T’s appalling run of injuries continues, with Lee Phillips now ruled out for the rest of the season.

Astley & Tyldesley 56

Reece Pollitt 16, Paul Graham 13, Matt Snell 12, Max Evans 8 (3), Mark Grantham 6, Lee Phillips 1.

Edinburgh 88

Jake Slight 18 (1), Mikey Hewitson 18 (1), Neil McPherson 16 (3), Marcin Czarkowski 14 (1), Craig Newsome 12 (3), Kamil Greszla 7 (1), Neil Swanson 3 (1).

Referee – Mike Hack.

A&T maintained their 100% record in the Division 2 match which followed.

Max Evans and Matt Snell both raced unbeaten, with solid scores from the rest of the team. Danny Pickup excelled in his debut match, winning his first two races as A&T ran out convincing 86-63 winners.

Dode Mitchell and Lewis Foxley both won a race each for the visitors.

Astley & Tyldesley 86

Max Evans 19 (1), Matt Snell 19 (1), Mark Grantham 15 (2), Danny Pickup 13 (1), Will Evans 12 (1), Lucy Grantham 8.

Edinburgh 63

Dode Mitchell 15 (1), Lewis Foxley 13, Alisdair Foxley 9 (2), Skye Mitchell 9 (2), James Foxley 9, Ciaran Leslie 8 (1).

Referee – Mike Hack.

Defending champions A&T kept up their Division 3 title challenge with a comfortable 73-37 victory.

Matt Snell again raced unbeaten, with another good score from Danny Pickup. Edinburgh’s three riders all performed well.

Astley & Tyldesley 73

Matt Snell 16, Danny Pickup 13, Lucy Grantham 11, Nathan Holt 11, Jack Littler 9, Aiden Green 8, Sabrina Evans 5.

Edinburgh 37

Ciaran Leslie 14, James Foxley 13, Ben Foxley 10.

Referee – Mike Hack.