MATCH REPORT: Hammers keep title hopes alive

With two Polish Internationals, including the current European Champion, Lukas Nowacki, and five British Final qualifiers in their line-up, Horspath were always favourites to take the league points.

However, with only a 3 point advantage after 15 races, the Comets gave them a good run for their money.

Two home rider tapes exclusions in the last 5 heats allowed the Oxford club to widen the final margin to 8 on the run-in.

Action from Poole v Horspath by Graham Robins

Action from Poole v Horspath by Graham Robins

Track conditions were nigh on perfect after the previous day’s rain and watched by a healthy crowd, some quality racing ensued as track craft and team tactics were on display in every race.

Poole came out strongly after the break with three consecutive race wins, before Horspath  focused on their title bid and the forthcoming “decider” at Ashmore Park, by sharpening their act.

Mark Carmichael and Lewis Osborne along with Nowacki caught the eye for the Hammers, while Matiej Ganczarek and Dawid Bas shone for Poole.

Poole 93
Dawid Bas 18, Matiej Ganczarek 17, Greg Gluchowski 14, Steve Harris 13, Dean Hook 9, Aaron Smith 6, Wil Bristow 6, Jay Briggs 6, Ben Tinsdale 4.

Horspath 101
Mark Carmichael 20, Lewis Osborne 17, Lukas Nowacki 14, Szymon Kowalczyk 14, Zac Payne 11, Jack Harrold 10, Mark Boaler 7, Jake Neighbour 6, Wil Jeffrey 2.

Referee Colin Simmons