AUSTRALIA: Salisbury Jets capture Australian League Final

The wet and windy unseasonal weather conditions failed to deter supporters of the competing Le Fefevre and Salisbury clubs from attending the Australian League Grand Final, at the Reserve Parade, Findon on Sunday.

With both sides tracking the cream of Australian senior talent, a closely contested outcome was predicted, and this proved the case when Ty Geertsen defeated newly crowned Australian Individual Champion Joel Chadwick in the opening heat.

However Brad Hoppo and Ryan Greenhalgh took a maximum score in in heat 3, followed two heats later by Greenhalgh and Chadwick, which in turn gave Salisbury a slim five point advantage at the interval stage.

Although Le Fevre staged a late fightback, the final heat ended in a shared scoreline that gave Salisbury victory by just four points.

Former Australian International, Steve Denisson was the selected referee and gave another faultless performance that must now see him top the list of host nation officials for 2017 World Championship appointments.

The winning Salisbury Jets side.

The winning Salisbury Jets side.

Le Fevre 57
Ty Geertsen 19, Jack Norman 16, Rob Sellick 9, Nash Manoel 8, Paul White 5.

Salisbury 61
Ryan Greenhalgh 12, Joel Chadwick 12, Ryan Edson 11, Shane Weinert 11, Brad Hoppo 6, Matt Snowden 6, Adam Haldenby 3.