2017 CLUB CHAMPIONSHIPS: Monarchs reign on day two

On day two of the 2017 British Club Championships, Leicester Monarchs Womens team made it an incredible 12 club titles in a row, continuing their dominance in the competition for over a decade. Their veteran counter parts claimed the Over 40s title, while Poole’s girls won the U16 Girls title on their home track. Pete Barnes takes us through today’s events…

Whilst the Sunny South Coast weather at Harbourside Park failed to live up to its reputation, the promise of close and exciting racing certainly delivered.

Only three clubs contested the British U16 Girls Final, one of which could only track two riders, so as always in these circumstances the reasons are open to debate.

The host club were able to enhance their interval four point margin during the latter stages with each of their squad gaining at least one heat win on their way to the title.

U16 Girls Results

Poole 55
Macie Schmidt 16 Maddie Saunders 16 Beth Briggs 12 Anna Tuttle 11

Leicester 43
Sophie Sinclair-Black 12, Honey Whitehead 11, Ballie Phillips 11, Chloe Whithead 9

Ipswich 27
Chloe Pearce 14 Gemma Hill 13

Despite a mid afternoon shower, the British Over 40s final produced twenty heats of competitive racing, with the talented Leicester team always in the driving seat and their victory was well deserved.

Over 40s Results

Leicester 55
Norman Venson 12 Craig Marchant 12 Kevin Burns 11 Mark Whithead 11 Dave Frith 9

Birmingham 44
Mark Winwood 13 Paul Timms 13 Steve Hodginson 9 Carl Winwood 9

Wednesfield 43
Mark Griffiths 16 Steve Mullinder 12 Phil Hemming 8 Graham Kemp 7

Poole 35
Pete Chant 10 Rob Haywood 9 Colin Byrne 9 Colin Rowles 7

Ipswich 21
Ian Johnson 6 Phil Clarke 5 Darren Mitchell 5 Mark Debman 5

The closing event of the day, the British Womens Final, lived up to all expectations with the powerful Leicester club always in command from close rivals Ipswich and Poole.

Womens Results

Leicester 49
Lizzie Ridgley 14 Lucy Whithead 12 Michelle Whithead 12 Chloe Whithead 9 Sophie Middleton 2

Ipswich 43
Gemma Hill 12 Lily Gedge 11 Chloe Pearce 10 Charlie-Jane Herbert 10

Poole 38
Macie Schmidt 15 Maddie Saunders 9 Kristina Mines 7 Beth Briggs 4 Anna Tuttle 3

Sheffield 30
Laura Watson 11 Niamh Morton 9 Sammi Marsh 6 Emily Morton 4

At the close of play in the 2017 British Club Championship on day two, Poole hold a slender two point lead over Ipswich with the final outcome to be decided at Horspath on Monday.

PHOTOS: Check out Graham Robin’s photos from Poole in the slideshow below

This slideshow requires JavaScript.