MATCH REPORT: Excellent turn out for first national BYJL and Little League round

The BYJL got off to a tremendous start at Kesgrave on Saturday with an entry list of 137 riders. The CS Little League was particularly encouraging, with thirty U8 and twenty three U10 riders. The showers forecast stayed away and we were treated to some warm sunshine to go with the great racing.

Under 8

Slick pit work kept the U8 heats rattling along and ended with four riders on maximum points; Kesgrave riders, Harvey Shumake, Luca Woodhouse and Lily Parr plus Jack Tidball (Exeter). Luca and Jack stormed out of the gates in the A final with Luca leading into the first corner from Jack, Harvey (gate 1) and Lily (gate 4).

The positions remained unchanged all the way to the flag with Luca gradually pulling away for a comfortable victory but it was a close run thing for second between the other three. Oscar Hammond took the B final victory.

U8s A-Final: 1st – Luca Woodhouse (Kesgrave), 2nd – Jack Tidball (Exeter), 3rd – Harvey Shumake (Kesgrave), 4th – Lily Parr (Kesgrave)

Under 10

In U10s, Poole’s Kenzie Bennett scored a maximum in the heats and was joined in the A final by Ronnie Wassall (Coventry) on fiftenn points plus Oliver Saunders (Poole) and JJ Wildman (Exeter) both on fourteen points. South East leading U10 rider, Charlie Parr (Kesgrave), was in contention but crashed heavily after a coming together when passing another rider and his challenge was over.

After a restart, Oliver (gate 1) led into the first corner and was very disappointed to eventually finish fourth. Ronnie took a very impressive win from gate 3 with the rapid Kenzie (gate 2) second, JJ filled the final podium place. Ryker Jolly (Kesgrave) was the winner of the B final.

U10s A-Final: 1st – Ronnie Wassall (Coventry), 2nd – Kenzie Bennett (Poole), 3rd – JJ Wildman (Exeter), 4th – Oliver Saunders (Poole)

Under 12

Fresh from his victory in the Dash Trophies GP, Harry Radford (Bury) secured maximum points in the heats as did Noah Woodhouse (Kesgrave). They were joined in the A final by the excellent Joe Hurren (Poole) and an impressive performance from John White (A&T) on a track which is not his favourite.

Following a restart, Noah did not get the best of starts from gate 1 and it was Joe from gate 2 leading into the first corner with the aggressive Harry (gate 3) pushing Joe hard.

The pressure from Harry eventually told, passing Joe and taking the flag with Noah third and John fourth. Some of the biggest cheers of the day were for local favourite, Charlie Beeton, who pulled off some fantastic passes on his way to the B final win.

U12s: 1st – Harry Radford (Bury), 2nd – Joe Hurren (Poole), 3rd – Noah Woodhouse (Kesgrave), 4th – John White (A&T)

Under 14

Could anyone stop Lewis Brinkhoff (Kesgrave) in the U14s? Ben Wells (Coventry) joined Lewis in taking maximum points from the heats and they were joined in the A final by Ipswich’s Ben Clarke and Dan Wright (Newport). Lewis was second into the first corner from gate 4 with Dan (gate 1) ahead.

The four were tightly bunched going down the back straight but Lewis dived down the inside at turn 3 and was ahead and cruised away to victory. Dan was unable to hold off Ben Clarke but finished a creditable third with Ben Wells fourth. Tyler Bould (Wednesfield) won the B final.

U14s  A-Final: 1st – Lewis Brinkhoff (Kesgrave), 2nd – Ben Clarke (Ipswich), 3rd – Dan Wright (Newport), 4th – Ben Wells (Coventry)


There was a good entry of nineteen riders entered the Girls event. Macie Schmidt (Poole) and Ipswich’s Chloe Pearce both took maximum points from the heats and they were joined in the A final by Elizabeth Rigley on fifteen points.

Youngsters, Emily Burgess (A&T) and Gemma Hill (Ipswich) were tied on fourteen points but the last A final place went to Emily. The usual rapid start saw Macie lead into the first corner from gate 3 with Chloe (gate 4) and Elizabeth (gate 2) battling for second.

Macie ran out the winner from Elizabeth and Chloe but special mention must go to Emily for an excellent meeting and finishing fourth. Maddie Saunders (Poole) dominated to take victory in the B final.

Girls A-Final: 1st – Macie Schmidt (Poole), 2nd – Elizabeth Rigley (Leicester), 3rd – Chloe Pearce (Ipswich), 4th – Emily Burgess (A&T)

Under 18

There were twenty two riders for the U18s with a few names absent but it was still a quality field with Brandon Whetton (Wednesfield) standing out as the man to beat with Pierce Bacon (Ipswich) also in fine form.

Brandon was joined by Jake White (East Park) on maximum points from the heats but there were three riders on fifteen points. Ewan Hancox (Birmingham) and Damian Pelaczyk (Leicester) getting the nod over Pierce who took victory in the B final.

With the other three fighting amongst themselves, Brandon stormed out of gate 1 and was never headed to take victory. Jake fought off Ewan and Damian and that is the order they finished.

U18s A-Final: 1st – Brandon Whetton (Wednesfield), 2nd – Jake White (East Park), 3rd – Ewan Hancox (Birmingham), 4th – Damian Pelaczyk (Leicester)

Team Scores

Ipswich 154,  Poole 124.5, Coventry 88, Kesgrave 87, Leicester 76.5, A&T 36, Sheffield 33, Exeter 20

A truly special day at Kesgrave with great cycle speedway entertainment; the BYJL has delivered!

Round 2 will be hosted by East Park on Saturday 15 July starting at 10:00. After fantastic racing at round 1, East Park will be eagerly anticipated.

Report by Andrew Parr