PREVIEW: British Championships Day 3

Great Blakenham is the venue for the 3rd and final day of the 2019 British Championships where the Under 16 Boys, Women’s & Open British Champions will be crowned

The day begins with the Under 16 Boys Championship and Ipswich have 3 representatives with Lewis Brinkhoff, who was runner-up last year and is the current Under 16 Boys & Junior World Number 2 as well as the current British Junior number 2. Also representing Ipswich is Ben Clarke who successfully defended the British Junior Championship yesterday at Kesgrave. Kristian Mitchell completes the Ipswich trio. Hethersett have 2 representatives in Paul Delaiche & Irealnd International Charlie Lyth. The line-up is completed by Tom Blackmore (Norwich), Tom Savage (Coventry), Kielan Burton (Sheffield), Noah Woodhouse (Kesgrave), Dan Wright (East Newport), Dan Teal (Hull) & Nathan Goulden (Poole)

The Women’s Championship sees 10 of the riders who rode in last year’s event at Hull entered for this year’s event. The 2 time and current champion Macie Schmidt is back in an attempt to become the first rider to win the Women’s British Championship for a record 3rd time. Macie’s Poole team-mate Maddie Saunders is also entered. The reigning Under 16 Girls World Champion Emily Burgess (A&T), runner-up last year and Elizabeth Rigley (Leicester), who was 3rd last year, are also entered, as is Gemma Hill (Ipswich) who won the Under 16 Girls title yesterday at Kesgrave. Sheffield have 2 riders entered, GB Women’s international Niamh Morton and 2011 Women’s World Champion Laura Watson. 2012 British & European Women’s Champion Lauren jacobs is also entered, as is Hethersett’s Katie Adams, the Leicester cousins Honey & Chloe Whitehead and the line-up is completed by Wednesfield’s Georgia Burt

The Open Championship completes the day’s action and all 4 of the previous winners who have entered have all qualified for the final on this occasion. Zac Payne (Horspath), winner in 2015 at Ipswich, 2016 champion and current World Champion Ben Mould (Poole), Myke Grimes (Coventry), who became only the 2nd rider to win the title with a 20 point maximum and the current champion Josh Brooke (Great Blakenham), who beacme the first Suffolk rider since Tim Snook in 1989 to win the title when he won last year at Hull. The draw has brought together 3 of those champions, Mould, Grimes & Brooke to race in heat 17 alongside Paul Heard (Birmingham). The full draw for the British Open Final can be found here: