CLUB NEWS: Sponsor recognition for Ben

by Gordon Day. Press Officer Poole Cycle Speedway.

POOLE COMETS cycle speedway racer Ben Mould has had his outstanding achievement of winning the 2019 ICSF World Championship recognised by the Poole Dolphin Centre, the club’s main team sponsors.

Their management team of John Grinnell and Lisa King were on hand to present him with a £100 voucher from JD Sports, one of the major outlets in the Dolphin Centre mall.

Lisa King, retail liaison manager at the Dolphin Shopping Centre, said: “We were very proud to present Ben with a voucher in recognition of his world champion status. It was great to see people of all ages getting to meet a fantastic sports role model who shows young people what they can achieve if they chase their dreams. The Poole Cycle Speedway Club has won a number of trophies and medals this year and we are pleased to be able to back their success.”

The Poole club was scheduled to close the season with a home match against Wednesfield, but the Midlands side were forced to pull out of the fixture due to rider availability, leaving Poole to claim the match points. This result confirmed Poole as 2019 English Charity Shield champions.

‘ It’s a shame to have won the championship this way’ said Comets captain Wil Bristowe ‘ It would have been better to have won it on the race track and in front of our fans. We were disappointed that the Aces could not raise a team as they were fourth in the standings and victory would have seen them finish at the top of the table above us. It has been an outstanding season for the club at all levels of competition, and winning the championship is a great way to finish the season.’

The Charity Shield success completed a hat-trick of wins for the senior squad, with the team also taking the honours in the South Western Regional league and the British Open Club final.

Not to be outdone the Comets junior squad won the National and South West Youth and Junior league titles and the British Under 12 Club competition. Overall the Poole club was crowned British Club Champions for the fourth consecutive season.