MATCH REPORT: Hull win Yorkshire League for 3rd successive season

Hull were crowned Yorkshire League champions for a third successive season after winning the final round on home shale, at the Hessle raceway.
Hull entered the final round knowing that the title was there’s to loose.
A strong quintet went out in style, winning Round 6 (their fourth win) after scoring 62 points. Sheffield (48) just held on to second place from Heckmondwike Saints (46) who hit their highest total of the season.
Hull managed heat advantages in five of the eight team races, the other three shared 5-5 With Sheffield. Sheffield’s Kielan Burton spoiled the maximum hopes of Nathan Everett, Lewis Foxley and Jack Lister (who was beaten by Mark Rushby in the very last race).
Sheffield were indebted to guest Adam Watson in helping the Stars to finish second.
The Saints were close to upsetting Sheffield, to claim second place, just as they had done last Sunday. Mark Rushby won three times from five races, not too shabby after a near 35 years since his last visit to Hessle.

The victorious Hull team. Photo supplied by Hull CSC
Back row  – Andy Schofield,  Liam Bennett,  Lewis Foxley,  David Cooper,  Jack Lester. 
Kneeling – Mat Eglen,  Nathan Everett. 


Hull (62) – Nathan Everett 18+1, David Cooper 4+1, Lewis Foxley 15+4, Jack Lister 18, Mat Eglen 7.

Heckmondwike (46) – Pat Beacock 8+1, Darren Kent 14, Mark Rushby 17, Declan Lindsey 5, Steve Muff 2.

Sheffield (48) – Kyle Holland 11+1, Laura Watson 9, Adam Watson 9, Kielan Burton 13, Rob Mawhood 6+2.

Referee – Andy Schofield