MATCH REPORT: Yorkshire League Individuals

Report and Photos by Andy Schofield

Heckmondwike staged the Yorkshire League Individual Finals on a day that started bright and cool but got increasingly wetter.

The under 10’s and under 13’s was well supported by the Heckmondwike, Hull and Sheffield clubs and was raced using a ladder format. Harry Gibson of Hull won the under 10’s ‘A’ final with Eddie Owalabi O’Shea of Sheffield chasing hard in second place and Heckmondwike’s Charlie Lebrasse and Joseph Green filling the third and fourth paces. Charlie Taylor of Sheffield won the ‘B’ final and Heckmondwike’s James Vanner the ‘C’ final. The under 13’s ‘A’ final was won by Noah Lyon of Hull with Sheffield’s Oliver Banyard in close contention and Hull’s Spencer Glenton holding off team mate Kacey Bennett for third place. The ‘B’ final was heavily stacked with home riders and was won in fine style by George Lebrasse.

Under 10’s

A Final: 1st Harry Gibson – Hull, 2nd Eddie Owalabi O’Shea – Sheffield, 3rd Charlie Lebrasse – Heckmondwike, 4th Joseph Green – Heckmondwike.

B Final: 1st Charlie Taylor – Sheffield, 2nd Ellwod Harrison – Hull, 3rd Polly Gowans – Hull

C Final: 1st James Vanner – Heckmondwike, 2nd Alex Battle – Heckmondwike, 3rd Spencer Glenton – Hull

Under 13’s

A Final: 1st Noah Lyon – Hull, 2nd Oliver Banyard – Sheffield, 3rd Spencer Glenton – Hull, 4th Kacey Bennett – Hull

B Final: 1st George Lebrasse – Heckmondwike, 2nd Elliot Long – Heckmondwike, 3rd Will Hollich – Hull, 4th Fraser Burno – Heckmondwike, 5th Raganvi Kakumani – Heckmondwike

Referee: Darren Kent

The heavens opened just before the open and veteran’s meetings but the Firth Park track held up well to the downpour. Nine riders contested the ‘open’ meeting with Hull’s Lewis Foxley taking good victories over team mate Jack Lister and Sheffield’s Kielan Burton, in heats three and eight, to lead the way. Heat 11 brought together the main chasers and needed a re-run when Jack Lister and Heckmondwike’s Dan Green tangled and fell together. The re-match saw Sheffield’s Kielan Burton again racing away with Jack in pursuit and Dan trying everything to get past but the order remained the same at the chequered flag. Lewis won his final race to take the Yorkshire Open title with Kielan confirmed as runner-up and Jack third.

The veteran’s final saw six riders brave the wet conditions with Darren Kent of Heckmondwike needing all his track skills to pass Hull’s Rich Gibson in heat two. Hull’s Jason Keith beat a determined Justin Naylor of Heckmondwike in heat three, and heat ten brought together the unbeaten Jason and Darren with the Hull rider taking the race win and the title, despite every effort to pass from Darren, and complete a clean sweep of wins for the Hull club. Rich Gibson took an impressive third place in his first season of racing.


Lewis Foxley (Hull) 16, Kielan Burton (Sheffield) 15, Jack Lister (Hull) 14, Dan Green (Heckmondwike) 13, Matt Eglen (Hull) 12, Ryan Tomkinson (Hull) 11, Declan Lindsey (Heckmondwike) 10, Jack Lebrasse (Heckmondwike) 9, Lee Warhurst (Heckmondwike) 8.


Jason Keith (Hull) 16, Darren Kent (Heckmondwike) 15, Rich Gibson (Hull) 14, Justin Naylor (Heckmondwike) 13, Stuart Hardaker (Heckmondwike) 12, Tony Lebrasse (Heckmondwike) 11

Referee: Rob Mawhood