MATCH REPORT: Derek Hilton Memorial trophy at Hull

Hull Cycle Speedway

Report and photos by Andy Schofield

The Derek Hilton Memorial Meeting was staged for the third time at The Hessle Raceway, this year as a club Individual. Derek’s widow Anne was the clubs guest and presented the trophies on a pleasant day following a wet week that gave a grippy track. The junior under 8, 10 , 13’s took to the track first with Spencer Glenton continuing his good form to clinch the under 13 title with an unbeaten score, while Harry Gibson showed lots of promise, at only 11 years old, to take second place with 15 points. Harvey McClachlan finished third after some excellent starts and Will Hollich was just unable to force his way onto the podium. Jayden Bennett was a comfortable winner of the under 10’s with Sophia Temple in second place and Jacob McClachlan in third. In the under 8’s Fletcher Glenton and Alexis Woodcock renewed their season long rivalry with Fletcher just getting the advantage in a close contest.

Scores: Spencer Glenton (13) 16, Harry Gibson (13) 15, Harvey McClachlan (13) 14, Will Hollich (13) 13, Jayden Bennett (10) 12, Fletcher Glenton (8) 11, Alexis Woodcock (8) 10, Sophia Temple (10) 9, Jacob McClachlan (10) 8.

In the under 19 / open meeting the expected showdown between Lewis Foxley and Jack Lister came in their final race with Lewis holding off Jacks fast gate from the outside to race away for the title. Rich Gibson took third place with Dave Lister, making a rare competitive appearance, in fourth place. In the under 19 event Noah Lyon and Liam Bennett tied on 13 points with Noah holding off Liam’s fast start to take first place while Ryan Tomkinson and Kacey Bennett tied for third place on 10 points with Ryan passing Kacey with a strong inside challenge. Harry Gibson finished in fifth place after moving up from the junior match.

Scores: Lewis Foxley (Op) 16, Jack Lister (Op) 15, Noah Lyon (19) 13, Liam Bennett (19) 13, Rich Gibson (Op) 12, Dave Lister (Op) 11, Ryan Tomkinson (19) 10, Kacey Bennett (19) 10, Harry Gibson (19) 8.