MATCH REPORT: Sheffield Club Individual

Report by Rob Mawhood

Sheffield’s final fixture for the 2023 season was the combined Club Individual/Go Ride round 10. Twenty one riders lined up in the Autumn sunshine (the best turn out since 2014). It was also the strongest line up for a number of years with fourteen riders who have ridden for the first team this season. There were plenty of thrills and spills during the 30 qualifying races using the ladder format. Recent returnee Leon Wild stole the show, winning four races on the bounce after finishing last first time out. Oliver Banyard and Eddie Owalabi-Oshea each won three of their five races. Eighteen different riders won at least one race, with youngest rider Lucas Mawhood (aged 6) endearing himself to the watching crowd (his all action style could see him be a Star rider of the future).

After the qualifying races the Go Ride finals were next on the agenda. Several of the categories had already been decided and Lincoln Ackroyd (under 10), Oliver Banyard (under 13) and Wil Banyard (vets) continued their dominance with wins.
Laura Watson won the Women’s Final, but could not stop Lacey Ackroyd from lifting the Women’s overall title. Lucas Mawhood won the under 8’s event and took the overall title (after wins in rounds nine and ten). The other title to be decided on the day was the Open event. Kielan Burton and Kyle Holland started the day tied for first place. Both had contrasting days. Kyle was never out of the top group while Kielan had three falls in his five races. As they ended up in different finals it was Kyle who did enough to win the overall title, finishing runner up to Sam Stansfield in the Open final.
It was quite the farewell meeting for Sam, he’s leaving the Stars for a new venture in 2024 after three productive seasons in the orange and black. Winning the Go Ride open final and defending his Stars under 16 individual title.

Kyle Holland with the Open championship trophy. Photo taken by Nicola Banyard 

There were eleven races to finalise the Stars Club Championship. The prestigious Open title going to Kyle Holland after an epic battle with Leon Wild, Kyle regaining the title he last won in 2018. Four riders retained the titles they won in 2022. Lincoln Ackroyd (under 10), Sam Stansfield (under 16), Kielan Burton (under 19) and Laura Watson (Womens). Dariusz Pilas won the Vets Final, with Lucas Mawhood winning the Under 8’s at the other end of the age group spectrum. Lucas made it a double winning day after defeating three riders older than him to lift the Under 10 Clubman title. Lacey Ackroyd also had a double winning day, lifting the under 13 title and Dave Shoat Junior clubman trophy. The Dave Shoat Senior clubman trophy was won by Niall Morton, after an incident packed final finished after three re runs.

Referees – Rob Mawhood and Niall Morton