MATCH REPORT: Yorkshire League Round 3

Hull Cycle Speedway

Report by Andy Schofield

Hull staged the third round of The Yorkshire League on a warm dry day at The Hessle Raceway. The team event was closely fought in the early stages with Hull and Sheffield taking maximum heat wins over a weakened Heckmondwike side and sharing drawn heats with each other. The one exception came in heat 4 when Kyle Holland and Kielan Burton raced to a 7-3 advantage giving Sheffield a four point lead going into the nominated races. Sheffield won three of the nominated races with Jack Lister taking the final heat for Hull to complete a fine maximum. Justin Naylor picked up a second place in heat 15 for the Saints while Aiden Owen and Kyle Holland only dropped one point each for the Stars. Hull were boosted by good displays throughout the side including Noah Lyon and Rich Gibson recovering from long lay-offs due to injuries.

Hull 58: Jack Lister 19+1, Noah Lyon 14+1, Rich Gibson 12+1, Spencer Glenton 7, Liam Bennett 6+2.

Sheffield 65: Aiden Owen 16+3, Pawel Idziorek 16, Kyle Holland 15+3, Kielan Burton 10+1, Oliver Banyard 8.

Heckmondwike 33: Philip Vanner 10, Justin Naylor 9, Elliot Long 7, Lee Warhurst 5, Joseph Green 2.

In the Junior Grand Prix Hull’s Spencer Glenton rode unbeaten to take the under 13 section with Heckmondwike’s James Vanner beating Hull’s Alexis Woodcock in the under 10’s final.

Under 13 ‘A’ Final: 1st Spencer Glenton (Hull), 2nd Oliver Banyard (Sheffield), 3rd Harry Gibson (Hull), 4th Jayden Bennett (Hull)

Under 13 ‘B’ Final: 1st Joseph Green ( Heckmondwike), 2nd Sophia Temple (Hull), 3rd Aaliyah Temple (Hull)

Under 10 Final: 1st James Vanner (Heckmondwike, 2nd Alexis Woodcock (Hull)

A large field contested the senior Grand Prix with Sheffield’s Pawel Idziorek winning the open meeting, Liz Rigley of Sheffield the women’s, Will Banyard of Sheffield the veteran’s 40+, and Heckmondwike’s Phil Vanner the veteran’s 55+. Hull’s Liam Bennett won the under 18 section after a collision on the final bend between Noah Lyon and Joe Brownell.

Open: 1st Pawel Idziorek (Sheffield), 2nd Jack Lister (Hull), 3rd Aiden Owen (Sheffield), 4th Kielen Burton (Sheffield), 5th Matt Parrot (Sheffield)

Women’s: 1st Liz Rigley (Sheffield), 2nd Laura Watson (Sheffield), 3rd Kacey Bennett (Hull).

Under 18: 1st Liam Bennett (Hull), 2nd Elliot Green (Heckmondwike), 3rd Joe Brownell (Sheffield), 4th George Rout (Hull), 5th Noah Lyon (Hull)

Veterans 40+ ‘A’ Final: 1st Will Banyard (Sheffield), 2nd Rich Gibson (Hull), 3rd Justin Naylor (Heckmondwike)

Veteran’s 40+ ‘B’ Final: 1st Paul Dean (Hull), 2nd Lee Warhurst (Heckmondwike)

Veteran’s 55+: 1st Philip Vanner (Heckmondwike