PREVIEW: Morris favourite to land title

Fast improving Coventry Devlins Newsagents Cycle Speedway starlet Ollie Morris heads an all-star line-up in a major junior meeting held in Coventry this evening (Tuesday 29th April).

Morris is the favourite to land the inaugural BMS Ltd Junior Classic, featuring 16 top riders from throughout the Midlands. The event races into action tonight at 7.15pm, at Hearsall Common.

The Bedworth schoolboy has made steady progress since taking up the sport two years ago. However, now mounted on a brand new £600 machine, he has really blossomed this year and recently made his first team debut in a challenge at Birmingham.

He faces tough competition from Devlins Newsagents teammates Sammi Marsh, Spencer Sawbridge and Adam Dickinson. Coventry newcomer Levi Walters is also included, together with Jack Bayliss and Billy Bloor.

One of the leading contenders is sure to be Binley based speedster Jimmy Wassall, who rides for Leicester, but who trains at Hearsall Common. Owen Ford represents Bretford Bulldogs.

As with all Cycle Speedway meetings at Hearsall Common, tonight’s event is free to spectate and there will be programmes and refreshments available.

BMS Ltd Junior Classic – official draw (in riding order):

1 Levi Walters (Coventry) 2 Chloe Whitehead (Leicester) 3 Billy Bloor (Coventry) 4 Reece Winwood (Birmingham) 5 Spencer Sawbridge (Coventry) 6 Josh Whetton (East Park) 7 Ryan Winwood (Birmingham) 8 Jake White (East Park) 9 Ollie Morris (Coventry) 10 Jack Bayliss (Coventry) 11 Jimmy Wassall (Leicester) 12 Owen Ford (Bretford) 13 Billy Winwood (Birmingham) 14 Adam Dickinson (Coventry) 15 Mark Phipps (Birmingham) 16 Sammi Marsh (Coventry)

For more information on Coventry Cycle Speedway, including how to get involved, you can visit or follow the club on Twitter using @CoventryCSC.