PREVIEW: BYJL champions crowned tomorrow at Great Blakenham

The 2016 BYJL comes to a conclusion tomorrow at Great Blakenham (10am start), with trophies being presented to the top three riders in each category.

In the U8s, with three wins so far and a 21 point lead, Poole’s Scott Rowles looks on his way to the title. The real battle lies for second place, with Kesgrave’s Magnus Vincent having drawn level with Poole’s Max Parry.

The best attended category has been the U10s with plenty of good racing. A&T’s John White looked to be running away with the title after winning the first two rounds, but faltered a little on his home track, where a win for Sheffield’s Logan Perkins brought him within 7 points of John.

While those two dispute first place, there is a real battle for third, with JJ Wildman (44pts), Connor Steel (43pts), Oliver Saunders(41pts) and Charlie Beeton (39pts), all hoping to pick up the trophy.

Last year, the U12s were dominated by Lewis Brinkhoff, and it is another Kesgrave rider, Oliver Wright, who has done the same this year winning all the rounds. The real contest is for second, where Poole teammates Nathan Goulden and Maddie Saunders are only separated by two points.

Two wins have put A&T’s Max Evans on top of the U14s standings. Devon Campbell will be regretting his fall in the second round while leading the A final, but still holds second on 54pts, just one point ahead of Lewis Brinkhoff.

Brandon Whetton looks certain to end his BYJL career with his fourth successive title, as he holds a 15pt lead in the U17s.  Hoping to make it a Wednesfield 1-2, will be Carl Parfitt (55pts), but he will need to fight off the Poole pair of Callum Smith (50pts) and Ben Tinsdale (47pts), who have both looked very impressive in their first year in this category.

In the girls, no one has been able to match Macie Schmidt’s gating speed. She holds a 17pt lead over Lizzie Rigley with Sammi Marsh third.

In the Club rankings, Poole have been strong supporters of the competition, fielding riders in all categories. They will surely confirm the retention of their Club title.

Full current standings can be found at:—Latest-Premier-League-Table-0?c=SX