MATCH REPORT: Carmichael and Davies take Swindon spoils

Newport’s Mark Carmichael and Chris Davies took the honours in the Swindon 40th Anniversary Individual meeting yesterday, winning the open and intermediate categories respectively.

The meeting drew top riders from around the country. Also a good crowd of ex-Swindon riders including Craig Nash, Pete Bennett, Darren Hicks and Andy Jeffries.

The Open event included:

Steve Harris (ex World Champion, VETS champion x4 Indoor Champion x 5), Zac Payne (British Champion), Mark Carmichael (British Junior Champion, GB squad member), Lewis  Osbourne (GB squad member). Representing Swindon were Jake Neighbour a former British Under 13 Champion, now 17 years old and one to watch this season, club champion Robert Hunt, James Bailey, Sean Brown, Andrew Yard and Matthew Rayson.

The preliminary heats were eventful, with some tape exclusions for Rob Hunt and Zac Payne, who were two favourites for the meeting, this meant they had a lot to do if they wanted a rostrum place.

It was good clean racing with only two accidents.

In heat 13, Jake Neighbour made an electric gate to take the win from Rob Hunt. Steve Harris collected another win in heat 15, putting him on a firm footing for a rostrum place. In heat 20, James Bailey got away to lead for 3 and 3/4 laps, only to be pip to the line by the legendry Steve Harris.

The meeting was very closely run, with run offs for all podium places. Jake Neighbour and Lewis Osbourne both finished on 17 points, with Osbourne winning the run off for third place.

Carmichael and Harris both finished on 19 points and had to fight it out for the title. The Newport rider won the toss taking the inside gate and was sharp away, Harris chased all the way but was beaten by good tactics to hold him off with Carmichael taking first place.

Mark Carmichael (first), Steve Harris (second) and Lewis Osbourne (third).

Mark Carmichael (first), Steve Harris (second) and Lewis Osbourne (third).

Before the main event there was an Intermediate meeting which was won by Chris Davies.

1st  Chris Davies (Newport) 20 point maximum
2nd James Bailey (Swindon) 19 points
3rd Sean Bennett (Newport) 18 points