AUSTRALIA: Gala atmosphere at Findon for Brian O’Neill Memorial

The Brian O’Neill Memorial was held at Findon last Sunday, with a gala atmosphere and the Sun shining on a winters day.

It is an Open Championship where riders from all clubs compete in the various grades. Most grades had sufficient entries to have heats with the top 6 point scorers going into a ‘sudden death’ final. Trophies were awarded to the first 4 placegetters.

By having 6 in the final allows for a rider to suffer a fall or exclusion and still get into the grand final. All the Finals were very spectacular with all the riders vying for the podium glory.

Four riders went through undefeated: Dylan Miller (Under 7), Mitchell Osborn (Under 9) Jacob Pudney (Under 13) Aussie Jones (Under 15) and Jake Mathews (Under 18).

WATCH: Joel Chadwick’s powerful ride in the Brian O’Neill Memorial Final

Joel Chadwick won the Division 1 in great style after coming out of grid 2 on the outside of Shane Bentley but passed him on turn 1 in the second lap to cruise home for his second win of the Brian O’Neill Memorial. His first win was in 2010.

The event was sponsored by local car repairers Seaton Auto Electrics & EFI Repairs.

Podium Photos