2017 BRITISH INDIVIDUALS: Day one round-up

The 2017 British Individual Finals weekend kicked off in explosive style with three hard-fought CS Little League matches at Leicester.

Kesgrave’s Luca Woodhouse took the first title up for grabs in the U8 CS Little League A-Final. He lead home team mate Oliver Edmunds and Leicester’s Liam Wells. Meanwhile in the U10s girls, Daisy Sherwood picked up the 33/18 designs sponsored race jersey, Lexie Curtis, also of Poole took second with Kesgrave’s Lily Parr taking the final podium place.

Coventry’s all-action Ronnie Wassall won a tight race between Poole’s Kenzie Bennett and Exeter’s JJ Widman to effectively seal the CS Little League U10 Boys title, which took three runs to complete. Bennett and Wildman both won all their other races to finish 2nd and 3rd respectively behind maximum man, Wassall.

In the U12 British Individual Girls championship, Exeter’s Rosie Tidball won her 4th consecutive British title, racing to victory ahead of Birmingham’s Rebecca Humphries in second and Poole’s Izzy Byrne bringing home third spot.

Bury’s Harry Radford continued his good form by securing the British U12 Boys title. Kesgrave took another podium courtesy of Noah Woodhouse, who claimed runner-up, while home rider, Kyle Wells, picked up a podium like his brother earlier.

Poole’s Maddie Saunders claimed her first national title by winning the U14 Girls title. She headed home Ipswich’s Gemma Hill and Horspath’s Alice Neighbour to follow on from her first individual victory in the intermediate Women’s League earlier in the season.

Finally, hot favourite, Lewis Brinkoff, closed an excellent day for Kesgrave by securing another national title in the U14s Boys category. Close rival, Ben Clarke of Ipswich took another podium position for the season. Stockport’s youngster, Daniel Mason, impressed with a third place for the Manchester outfit.

After Leicester, attention turned to Birmingham and East Park, where the first open semi-finals took place. Birmingham’s draw was notably the more difficult of the two semis. Ben Mould, Josh Brooke, Myke Grimes, Scott Millward, Zac Payne, Ashley Hill and Brandon Whetton filled the top 7 spots, with Lewis Osborne and Reece Pollitt both finishing on 13 points.

In East Park, Paul Heard raced to a 20 point maximum, with three times British Champion Andy Angell racing to 19 points. Other riders in the top end of the draw were, Chris Timms, Jake White, Dean Hook, Steve Harris and Jesse Moore. Lee Kemp and Leon Mower finished joint 8th on 13 points.

Open Semi Final scorecards

Leicester photos by Andrew Parr.