MATCH REPORT: Strong second half helps Team GB over the line

Australia rested big hitters Joel Chadwick, Cody Chadwick and Ty Geertsen for the final test, after already securing the series win at Murray Bridge on Sunday. In came Robert Sellick, a return to the line up for Ross Priest, and junior Jack Norman was promoted to the senior squad.

Great Britain made changes of their own, with Chris Timms making way for returning Lewis Osborne, while Jack Harrold also returned to the side in the reserve berth. Lee Kemp made his first Great Britain appearance since racing in Poland during the 2016 Club Championships.

The first half was displayed little between the sides, starting off with the two teams trading 6-4s before sharing heat 3. More 6-4s in both directions in heats 4 and 5 before another 5-5 in heat 6.

Heat 7 saw GB take the lead with a 6-4 couresty of Lewis Osborne and Josh Brooke then holding Australia to a 5-5 from outside grids in heat 8. A disastrous end to the first half for Great Britain saw Australia take the lead with a 7-2. An contentious exclusion for Jack Harrold giving Australia a three point lead.

Australia then extended that lead in the first race of the second half, with a 6-3 following an exclusion to GB captain Paul Heard, who was deemed to have turned right on an opponent by referee Pawel Cegielski.

A series of heat wins follow for Great Britain, who reeled off two 6-4s, Osborne and Brooke’s second of the match, and a 7-3 from Myke Grimes and Zac Payne to take a 2 point lead.

A far better second half performance saw Australia unable to rectify the deficit, as GB shut out their inside grids with 5-5s, while the tourists extended their lead with 6-4s from the inside to close out the match by heat 17 and record their first win in Australia since 2005.

Braden Makepeace 7, Bobby McMillan 14, Shane Bentley 18, Shane Weinert 5, Robert Sellick 6, Jack Norman 12+1, Ross Priest 14+1, Ryan Edson 9

Zac Payne 10+3, Myke Grimes 18, Lee Kemp 5+1, Paul Heard 13, Lewis Osborne 14+2, Josh Brooke 13, Jack Harrold 9, Ben Mould 10