MATCH REPORT: Frank Knight/Dave Shoat memorial Individual

Report by Rob Mawhood, photos by Clair Dunphy

Chris Timms rode to success in the first outdoor fixture of 2023 in the Frank Knight/Dave Shoat memorial at Sheffield’s Cookson Park circuit. Defeating three previous winners Ben Mould, Paul Heard and Ed Morton.
The track was bathed in sunshine at the start, though a heavy shower in the second half made going difficult from tyre spray.
The opening exchanges saw each rider post a two lap time trial, the quickest getting first choice of what race number to take.
Lewis Foxley broke the 2 lap track record with a time of 18.37. Mould went quicker, with 18.28 (taking the cash prize for quickest time). Mould chose the number 11 spot, as he had done in 2022 when he won with a maximum score. Timms was 8th fastest with 18.75 but managed to bag two grid ones with the number 13 spot.
The opening four races set a trend with wins for Heard and Timms (from tapes to flag) Mould (a superb first lap burst to go past Mike Baldock). Race one winner was Will Jeffrey. An electric start taking round the outside of all three riders on the first turn. Will posted the meetings fastest time with 38.72, collecting the cash prize for quickest race time.
Timms won his second grid one, but was pushed all the way by British Women’s champion Emily Burgess, making her Sheffield debut. Mould held off Heard, who had to work hard to pass Foxley, while Morton and Reece Pollitt won their grid ones.
The third set of four races saw wins for Mould, Foxley and Morton. Heat 12 saw Heard defeat Timms in what was the race of the day. The race also featured Baldock and Jeffrey, with each of the four riders leading at some stage during the 4 laps.
Heard, Pollitt and Foxley were race winners in the next set of four races. The result of heat 14 opening the meeting up. This was when the heavy shower arrived and saw Timms come from the back to defeat Mould from an outside grid. Mould dropping another point after being passed by Kris Ramsden on the final corner.
So with one race to go the leader board read Timms and Heard on 15, with Mould and Morton on 14.
Kielan Burton became the 8th rider to win a race, taking the chequered flag in heat 17 after passing Foxley around the outside to complete a fine meeting for the Sheffield youngster.
Pollitt defeated Heard on race 18. This opened the door for Timms to win the meeting in heat 19. He duly obliged with a tapes to flag win from grid 2 over Laura Watson, Steve Harris and Jack Brownell.
Mould beat the impressive Jeffrey in heat 20 to go level on points with Heard, Morton finished in third place to drop to fourth overall.
With just seven races having been won from grid one, the Cookson inside line looking tacky due to the recent snow and frost preventing proper preparation. It was no surprise that Mould chose grid three for the second place run-off.
Heard though made the start to hold Mould on his outside around the first turn. Keeping him their for the next lap and a half, the race mirroring a velodrome cat and mouse sprint.
Mould produced a devastating turn of speed coming out of turn two on lap three to sprint away and claim the second place cash prize. His winning time of 50 seconds the slowest of the match (and 12 seconds slower than the first race).
A very enjoyable and entertaining meeting with all riders putting in a top class show.
This included two of the North’s top youngsters Sheffield’s Oliver Banyard (11) and Bury’s Bobby Dunphy (10) who shared the rides from the number 9 spot. Both loving every minute of rubbing shoulders with their Elite counterparts.

Action from the race of the day. Heat 12 won by Heard from Timms, Jeffrey and Baldock. 
The top 3
The complete line-up


Chris Timms 19, Ben Mould 18, Paul Heard 18, Ed Morton 16, Reece Pollitt 16, Lewis Foxley 15, Will Jeffrey 15, Kielan Burton 13, Kris Ramsden 13, Mike Baldock 10, Wil Banyard 10, Emily Burgess 10, Steve Harris 8, Laura Watson 7, Jack Brownell 6, Oliver Banyard 3, Bobby Dunphy 2.