CLUB NEWS: Poole Presentation Evening Report

Poole’s annual celebration of the preceding season’s achievements was held over from its normal pre-Xmas time slot to avoid a clash with the World Championships. The later staging did absolutely nothing to detract from the enthusiasm – or indeed the attendance, in fact over 150 packed into the new venue at Hamworthy Labour Club where the evening got under way with a group photo of riders who successfully featured in the 2017 “Worlds” in Australia.

Floral appreciations for hard working canteen crew Vicky, Zowie and Michelle set the ball rolling followed by awards to the youngest racing group affectionately known as the “Clubnighters” – riders who regularly feature in Tuesday evenings but are yet to move up to BYJL racing. Then on came the youth and junior squad to pick up their regional winners trophies, all 39 of them after another great year which saw them go on to win the national trophy.

Once the riders had collected their cups, it was time for Neil Garnett and Darren Briggs to receive the Champions shields for the two BYJL categories, national and regional, from racing manager Colin Sutton.

There was special mention for Poole competitors Krissie Mines, Macie Schmidt, Maddie Saunders, Anna Tuttle and Bethany Briggs who were the mainstay of the SWW Womans league team which won the national title. Anna and Bethany received their BC gold medals and there was an additional gift for “B” who is stepping down from competitive racing. There was also a chance for SWW “stand alone” Junior champion Ben Tinsdale to be presented with his winners shield after his success late in the season.

Next to step up to the stage were the three winning teams in the British Club championship, the Little League Under 10s, the Under 16s and Under 16 girls teams. Then it was time to hold the cherished British Club trophy aloft as riders from all seven competing teams gathered for a celebratory group photo.

The roll of honour for rider of the year awards saw Teddy Curtis pick up the Under 8 award and Kenzie Bennett receive the Under 10 trophy. The name on the Under 12 shield was that of Josh Nottle and he was followed by Anna Tuttle who was the Under 14 winner. The hardest job for the awards panel was for the Junior Rider of the year which saw a tie between newly crowned world junior girls champion Macie Schmidt and Fraser Garnett who made the podium in the junior boys final. Jay Briggs was the popular winner of the senior rider trophy reflecting his significant contribution as a BC coach as well as his racing efforts on the track.

Finally, it was the pleasure of club chairman Graham Sutton to present the Clubman of the year trophy to Nick Goulden. As one of the club’s many dedicated parents who transport riders around to tracks far and wide week after week, and in his case year after year, Nick has never let the practicalities of being wheelchair bound stand in the way of delivering daughter Natalie and son Nathan on time! A truly deserved honour for his efforts.

With presentations over, there was just time for ace cameraman Graham Robins to snap one more photo. But this time there were no riders to be seen. Instead it was time to spotlight another top team, the one that never makes it onto the track. They are the volunteer team which works incredibly hard behind the scenes and away from the limelight to ensure that Poole CSC keeps its place right at the forefront of cycle speedway.