MATCH REPORT: BYJL North & Scotland Regional Round 2 at Astley

Astley & Tyldesley hosted the British Youth & Junior League, North Regional Round 2 meeting on Saturday. The track was in superb condition, after much rain during the week and a couple of showers on the day.

First up were the youngsters for the Little League match, with 12 A&T riders joined by two visitors. Frank White rode to a 16 points maximum score, twice beating Aiden Green, in the U8 match. Duncan Whalley recorded a 16 points maximum in the u-10 match, twice heading home Fraser Brundrett.

However, the winners were reversed in the Grand Prix ‘A’ Finals. Frank White led the U8 race, but fell on the second lap, for Aiden Green to come past and take the win. Fraser Brundrett sped away from gate 1 to win the U10 final, with Duncan Whalley unable to get past from gate 4.

Team scores:
Astley & Tyldesley 132 Sheffield 12 Bury 8.

U8: Frank White (A&T) 16, Aiden Green (A&T) 14, Freddy Warn (A&T) 12, Oscar Belt (A&T) 12, Ada Cox (A&T) 10, Aliesha Green (A&T) 8.

U10: Duncan Whalley (A&T) 16, Fraser Brundrett (A&T) 14, Edward Balfour (Sheffield) 12, Lewis Skitterall (A&T) 10, Tom Beeley (A&T) 10, Tom Dunphy (Bury) 8,
Freddie Cox (A&T) 6, Sabrina Evans (A&T) 4.

U8 Grand Prix:
‘B’ Final – 1st Ada Cox, 2nd Aliesha Green.
‘A’ Final – 1st Aiden Green, 2nd Oscar Belt, 3rd Freddy Warn, 4th Frank White.

U10 Grand Prix:
‘B’ Final – 1st Tom Beeley, 2nd Tom Dunphy, 3rd Freddie Cox, 4th Sabrina Evans.
‘A’ Final – 1st Fraser Brundrett, 2nd Duncan Whalley, 3rd Lewis Skitterall, 4th Ed Balfour.

Referee – Chas Whalley

The BYJL match followed, with a greater presence of visiting riders. A&T’s national U12 BYJL Grand Prix Champion, John White, rode to a 16 points maximum in the U12 match, twice beating Sheffield’s Logan Perkins.

John went on to beat Logan in the Grand Prix ‘A’ Final. The U14 match was contested by three Sheffield riders. Kielan Burton rode to maximum points in the qualifying heats and won the Grand Prix ‘A’ Final.

A&T fielded three riders in the Girls event, with Emily Burgess racing unbeaten in the qualifiers and winning the Grand Prix ‘A’ Final. In the Junior match, Bury’s Adam Turnbull topped the qualifying scores.

A&T’s Max Evans suffered a gate exclusion and a last place in his opening two rides, before hitting back to qualify for the Grand Prix ‘A’ Final. Fortune was on his side, as he drew gate 1 and raced away to win his first Grand Prix ‘A’ Final of the series.

Team scores:
Astley & Tyldesley 97 Sheffield 62 Bury 25 Hull 13.

U12: John White (A&T) 16, Logan Perkins (Sheffield) 14, Tom Morrissey (A&T) 12, Joe Brownell (Sheffield) 12, Charlie Burgess (A&T) 10, Sam Stansfield
(Hull) 8, Seb Kinsey (A&T) 4.

U14: Kielan Burton (Sheffield) 16, Jack Brownell (Sheffield) 11, James Morris (Sheffield) 9.

Girls: Emily Burgess (A&T) 16, Jacqui Kinsey (A&T) 12, Chloe Warn (A&T) 8.

Junior: Adam Turnbull (Bury) 13, Kaysar Mohammadi (Bury) 12, Ciaran Collins (A&T) 11, Max Evans (A&T) 8, Bradley Stansfield (Hull) 5.

U12 Grand Prix:
‘B’ Final – 1st Charlie Burgess, 2nd Seb Kinsey, 3rd Sam Stansfield.
‘A’ Final – 1st John White, 2nd Logan Perkins, 3rd Tom Morrissey, 4th Joe Brownell.

U14 Grand Prix:
‘A’ Final – 1st Kielan Burton (Sheffield), 2nd James Morris, 3rd Jack Brownell.

Girls Grand Prix:
‘A’ Final – 1st Emily Burgess (A&T), 2nd Jacqui Kinsey, 3rd Chloe Warn.

Junior Grand Prix:
‘B’ Final – 1st Bradley Stansfield.
‘A’ Final – 1st Max Evans, 2nd Ciaran Collins, 3rd Adam Turnbull, 4th Kaysar Mohammadi.

Referee – Kyle Holland

32 riders competed, including 21 from A&T, who took their second team wins of the series in both events. Riders, officials and spectators enjoyed a trackside barbecue after the racing.