MATCH REPORT: Astley’s unbeaten run continues

Astley & Tyldesley’s unbeaten run continues with wins in all three Northern League matches today(May 20th) at Gin Pit. On a hot, sunny day, defending champions A&T easily accounted for Sheffield in all three matches, despite a spirited effort by the visitors.

A&T took five successive maximum heat wins early in the Division 1 match and it wasn’t until heat 8 before a race was shared. The second half continued in a similar vein, before Sheffield recorded their only heat win of the match, a 6-4 to the Kielan Burton/ Adam Watson pairing over Emily Burgess and Mark Grantham, in heat 17.

Reece Pollitt, Paul Graham and the returning Adam Phillips all raced unbeaten for A&T, with Steve Harris losing only to Ed Morton. A&T ran out 113-66 winners, with Sheffield claiming inside grids from heat 6. Fastest time was 40.40 seconds by Reece Pollitt, when he beat Ed Morton in heat 15.

A&T 113
Steve Harris 22, Reece Pollitt 20 (4), Paul Graham 16, Max Evans 13 (3), Kyle Holland 12 (2), Adam Phillips 12, Mick Knowles 9 (1), Emily Burgess 5, Mark Grantham 4.

Sheffield 66
Kielan Burton 14, Luke Morton 13, Adam Watson 11 (1), Ed Morton 11, Steven Webber 10, Niamh Morton 7.

Referee – Chaz Whalley

Three 7-3 heat wins in the opening four races paved the way for A&T to control the Division 2 match. Sheffield rallied with three successive drawn heats mid match, before the home team hit three successive 7-3 wins late on, to win the match 89-61. Max Evans raced unbeaten for A&T, with Mark Grantham losing only to Kielan Burton in heat 6 and both Mick Knowles and Emily Burgess losing only to Luke Morton in heat 8.

A&T 89
Max Evans 19 (1), Mark Grantham 18 (1), Mick Knowles 16 (3), Emily Burgess 16 (3), Tom Morrissey 11, John White 9.

Sheffield 61
Luke Morton 13 (3), Kielan Burton 13, Niamh Morton 11, Steven Webber 9, Logan Perkins 8 (1), Edward Balfour 5 (1), James Morris 2.

Referee – Kyle Holland.

There was an impressive turnout of 19 riders for the Division 3 match, twelve u-10s and seven u-13s. A&T’s Aiden Green top scored in a very competitive u-10s match, losing only to team mate Duncan Whalley in heat 7, with A&T’s John White racing unbeaten in the u-13s category. A&T ran out convincing winners, 155-40,as all three Sheffield riders impressed.

A&T 115
John White 16, Aiden Green 15, Frank White 14, Duncan Whalley 13, Tom Beeley 13, Lewis Skitterall 12, Tom Morrissey 12, Oscar Belt 10, Lucy Grantham 8,
Charlie Burgess 8, Freddy Warn 8, Ada Cox 7, Chloe Warn 6, Sabrina Evans 5, Myles Grantham 4, Aliesha Green 4.

Sheffield 40
Edward Balfour 14, Logan Perkins 14, James Morris 12.

Referee – Catherine White

Congratulations go to Frank White on winning the U8 TLI National Youth Circuit Championship at Oulton Park, Cheshire earlier in the day.