MATCH REPORT: Manchester League GP Round 5

Astley & Tyldesley hosted Round 5 of the Manchester League Grand Prix series on a hot and sunny Wednesday evening. Liberal watering of the track managed to keep the dust down, after several weeks without any rainfall.

A&T took a convincing win in the Division 2 (youth and juniors match), to make it five wins out of five this year. A&T’s Duncan Whalley raced to a maximum score in the u-10s match, with team mates Aiden Green, Lewis Skitterall and Fraser Brundrett all scoring heavily. A&T’s Tom Morrissey top scored in the u-13s match after Bury’s Harry Radford was excluded first time out. Stockport’s Michael Preston top scored in the u-16 match, losing only to A&T’s Max Evans in heat 3. There were no u-19 riders competing.

Manchester League Division 2 result (top 5 scorers only count to team totals)

Astley & Tyldesley 73 Stockport 47 Bury 39

U-10s: Duncan Whalley (A&T) 16, Aiden Green (A&T) 15, Lewis Skitterall (A&T) 14, Fraser Brundrett (A&T) 14, Daniel Johnson (A&T) 12, Tom Beeley (A&T) 12, Tom Dunphy (Bury) 12, Oscar Belt (A&T) 10, Sabrina Evans (A&T) 10, Sam Dunphy (Bury) 9, Freddy Warn (A&T) 8, Myles Grantham (A&T) 7, Aliesha Green (A&T) 6, Bobby Dunphy (Bury) 6.
U-13s: Tom Morrissey (A&T) 14, Harry Radford (Bury) 12, Lucy Grantham (A&T) 11, Natasha Clitheroe (A&T) 6, Chloe Warn (A&T) 6.
U-16s: Michael Preston (Stockport) 15, Max Evans (A&T) 14, Devon Campbell (Stockport) 12, Louis Wright (Stockport) 11, Emily Burgess (A&T) 9, Daniel Mason (Stockport) 9, Erin Corrigan (A&T) 6.

Referee – Chaz Whalley.

Stockport raced to victory in the Division 1 (seniors) match to move ahead of A&T in the league table for the first time this season. Stockport’s Jake Read and Ben Higham jointly top scored with 15 points apiece on the night. Higham lost only to A&T’s Steve Harris in heat 7, with Read losing only to Higham in heat 13.

Manchester League Division 1 result (top 5 scorers only count to team totals)

Stockport 65 Astley & Tyldesley 49 Sheffield 18 Bury 10

Seniors: Jake Read (Stockport) 15, Ben Higham (Stockport) 15, Reece Pollitt (A&T) 14, Steve Harris (A&T) 13, Devon Campbell (Stockport) 12, Adam Watson (Sheffield) 12, Michael Preston (Stockport) 12, Louis Wright (Stockport) 11, Kris Ramsden (Bury) 10, Kyle Holland (A&T) 8, Mark Grantham (A&T) 8, Tom Bewick (Independent) 7, Max Evans (A&T) 6, Laura Watson (Sheffield) 6, Mark Brundrett (A&T) 5, Mick Knowles (A&T) 4.

Referee – Mike Hack.

Progressive scores, after 5 of 6 rounds ridden.
Division 2: A&T 15, Stockport 8, Bury 7.
Division 1: Stockport 16, A&T 15, Sheffield 6, Bury 5.
U-10 GP: Duncan Whalley 79, Aiden Green 71, Tom Dunphy 59.
U-13 GP: Tom Morrissey 66, Harry Radford 57, Charlie Burgess 50.
U-16 GP: Michael Preston 67, Max Evans 64, Devon Campbell 47.
U-19 GP: Ciaran Collins 36, Eryk Motala 14.
Senior GP: Reece Pollitt 68, Ben Higham 66, Adam Watson 61.