MATCH REPORT: Ipswich win CS Cup

Report by Mike Hack

Ipswich Eagles are the 2019 Cycle Speedway Cup winners! The Suffolk side led for most of the 32 heats match, running out winners by 15 points, in Sunday’s final at Astley & Tyldesley.

Despite heavy overnight rain, the Gin Pit circuit was in fine condition and an exciting day’s racing followed. Fortunately, the forecast rain held off for most of the meeting.

Poole led after the first round of B grade races, but Ipswich held a commanding lead by the time the A grade riders had completed their first round. Scores after heat 8 were:

Ipswich 27 Poole 19 Astley & Tyldesley 18 Coventry 14.

Ipswich still held the lead at the interval, after heat 16, but an impressive charge by A&T saw them pull clear of the other two clubs. Interval scores were:

Ipswich 50 Astley & Tyldesley 42 Poole 33 Coventry 31.

Poole won six of the next round of eight races after the interval, to claw back the deficit on A&T, who in turn moved closer to Ipswich. Scores after heat 24 were:

Ipswich 68 Astley & Tyldesley 62 Poole 60 Coventry 43.

Two more race wins to Poole followed and they overhauled A&T for a second place that they never subsequently lost. Ipswich stepped up
a gear, winning five successive races between heats 27 and 31, with Lewis Brinkhoff’s race win in heat 30 sealing the Cup for the Eagles. A&T pulled back to within one point of Poole after heat 30, but Tomek Wlodarczyk’s exclusion after clashing with Poole’s Fraser Garnett in heat 31 settled the overall 2nd and 3rd placings.

Astley & Tyldesley’s Reece Pollitt and Ipswich’s Matt Hill were the joint top scorers in the ‘A’ grade races, with 13 points apiece. Ipswich’s Richard Fellgett rode to a fine 16 points maximum in the ‘B’ grade races, recording the fastest time of the day, 41.25 seconds, in heat 28. His team mate Ben Clarke raced unbeaten from reserve.

The magnificent cup, medals and bubbly were presented by an array of official guests – British Cycling’s Delivery Director, Danielle Every; British Cycling’s Governance Manager, Alex Peet; British Cycling’s North West Regional Chair, Alan Gornall; Tyldesley Ward Councillor, Nazia Rehman; Astley & Tyldesley Club Chairman, Bill Phillips.

Cycle Speedway Cup Final result

Ipswich 94 Poole 79 Astley & Tyldesley 75 Coventry 62.

A grades: Matt Hill 13, Ashley Hill 11, Dan Knights 10, Lewis Brinkhoff 8.
B grades: Richard Fellgett 16, James Porter 11, Fraser Harris 4, Ben Harvey 3.
Juniors: Ben Clarke 12, Tyler Brinkhoff 6.

A grades: Ben Mould 11, Fraser Garnett 11, Aaron Smith 9, Matt Mildon 9.
B grades: Will Bristowe 11, Jay Briggs 11, Kyran Yeatman 11, Nathan Goulden 6.

Astley & Tyldesley:
A grades: Reece Pollitt 13, Pawel Idziorek 12, Steve Harris 10, Tomek Wlodarczyk 7.
B grades: Kyle Holland 9, Ciaran Collins 8, Mark Grantham 4, Mick Knowles 1.
Juniors: Matt Snell 8, Emily Burgess 3.

A grades: Myke Grimes 10, Mike Baldock 8, Dominik Rycharski 6, Adam Watson 6.
B grades: Tom Savage 11, Jim Bailey 7, Dan Drewett 7, Cameron Gill 4.
Junior: Josh Walters 3.

Referee – Darren Kent (West Yorkshire).