AUSTRALIA: Bill Rufus Memorial event an outstanding success.

Report by Pete Barnes.
Pictures by Kyra Ricketts.

The Le Fevre club staged over five hours of brilliant racing on Saturday with well over 100
competitors that fully justified the annual competition and in turn indicated the high esteem
that former Club President Bill Rufus had within the sport in South Australia. All the categories
completed a series of qualifying heats with the four highest scorers from each racing in a Grand Final.
Although the Division 1 was minus many of the senior riders due to a long standing social obligation
it still produced excellent racing with Jack Norman taking the major award from Adam Haldenby,Paul
White and Matty Snowden.

Jacob Pudney took out the Division 2 from Blade Blatchford with Locke Pearce and Logan MacKinley in the minor roles but their performance will attract the attention of Australian Junior Team Manager Bobby McMillan as their strict training sessions develop over the coming months prior to the 2020 World Championships.

The Veterans again impressed their intention of making a firm challenge at the Worlds later this year with Sam Rochester taking thechequered flag from Andrew Blatchford, Andrew Nieuwenhoven and Brad Delmenico.

Last but by no means least the Womens final gave World Champion Lucy Millikin the option for the inner gate position and despite concerted efforts from Nicole Kinross, Miriam Thompson and Nicola Gentle
it was a victory her grandfather would have been proud to witness.