MATCH REPORT: Phillips steps up to lead Coventry to glory in Poole

The opening match at Harbourside Park was expected to provide good racing and a close result.

Sure enough the racing was of a high calibre throughout and with the scores level at the interval, the close result was also a strong likelihood until disastrous heats 15 and 16 for the hosts. Tapes exclusions for Dawid Bas and Maciej Ganczarek gifted a 10 point advantage to the visitors who fully capitalised with two 7-2’s.

In truth, Coventry had already edged into an advantage after the break as their top end trio of McMillan, Grimes and ultra-impressive Pole Sassek, plus in form reserve Mason Phillips continued to monopolise the race wins with 13 out of 20 heats in their favour.

Poole battled hard with Ben Donohue typifying their fighting spirit, taking no prisoners en route but the team ran out of steam in their opening fixture, while Coventry, with one league win already under their belts looked sharper from one to nine.

Post-match, Coventry boss Lee Marsh said: “It was an excellent meeting for us, the boys dug deep and we were stronger in the second half, which is what we expected.

“It was an all round team performance but to have Mason at number nine and ride like he did is a huge boost – he didn’t let the decision which went against him get to him and he performed really well.

“We have a great team spirit and the lads are behind each other seven days of the week – not just on Sundays.”

Mihal Sassek celebrates a race win with the travelling Coventry fans. Photo by Paul Devine.

Mihal Sassek celebrates a race win with the travelling Coventry fans. Photo by Paul Devine.

Greg Gluchowski 20, Ben Donohue 15+2, Matiej Gaczarek 12+2, Dawid Bas 12, Steve Harris 11+2, Hayden Chant 10, Dean Hook 6+1, Wil Bristowe 4+1, Jay Briggs 2.

Bobby McMillan 23, Michal Sassek 18+1, Myke Grimes 15+2, Mason Phillips 11, Ben Higham 10+1, Chris Parish 10+1, Jake Read 9+2, Mike Baldock 9, Dan Drewett 1.

Referee – Dave Dart

Junior Training event

Ben Tinsdale 15+1, Jay Briggs 13+1, Fraser Garnett 11+2, Nathan Goulden 10, Ryan Bollom 9, Jack Kennedy 6, Oli Saunders 4.

Dan Drewett 15, Ben Wells 12, Ollie Morris 11, Matt Lawrence 9+1, Jack Reynolds 5, Jimmy Wassell 4+1, Bailie Phillips 3+1, Sammi Marsh 3.