MATCH REPORT: Manchester League round 6 at Stockport

Stockport staged the 6th and final Round of the Manchester League Grand Prix series on Wednesday evening.

The number of riders participating was well down on previous rounds, with many riders away on holiday.

In the U-10s match, A&T’s Jack Murray rode to a 16 points maximum score to take 2nd place in the overall series behind his team mate John White, who had already clinched the series before the last round. Bury’s Duncan Whalley and Zak Thacker both won two races each.

The U-13s category saw the series leader, A&T’s Matt Snell, away on holiday and Sheffield’s Tom Whitwam took full advantage by scoring a 16 points maximum to take the overall series win. Bury’s Louis Turner also raced unbeaten, to take runner-up slot overall in the series, with Bury’s Josh Neath dropping just one point on the night.

As usual, the U-16 and U-19 categories were combined with points subsequently adjusted. A&T’s Reece Pollitt won all his four races on the track to finish the U-19 series winner. Stockport’s Devon Campbell began the evening as joint leader in the U-16s series. With the other joint leader, Bury’s Adam Turnbull, away on holiday, Devon’s top score of 15 points was more than enough to win the overall series.

A&T’s Ciaran Collins rode his first match since illness and eased his way back in with a 14 points score. In the team event, Bury pipped A&T on the night but A&T had already won the Division 2 title for the third successive year.

Manchester League Div 2 match result (top 5 scorers only count to their team’s total)

Bury 70 Astley & Tyldesley 67 Stockport 53 Sheffield 16

U-10s: Jack Murray (A&T) 16, Duncan Whalley (Bury) 14, Zac Thacker (Bury) 14, Aiden Green (A&T) 9, Jarvis Yates (Stockport) 8, Hermoine Whalley (Bury) 8, Rowan Neath (Bury) 7.

U-13s: Tom Whitwam (Sheffield) 16, Louis Turner (Bury) 16, Josh Neath (Bury) 15, Danny Mason (Stockport) 12, Emily Burgess (A&T) 12, Thom Deakin (Bury) 10, Luis Roberts (Bury) 9, Holly Quinn (Bury) 9, Charlie Thacker (Bury) 5.

U-16s: Devon Campbell (Stockport) 15, Ciaran Collins (A&T) 14, Michael Preston (Stockport) 12, Kaysar Mohammedi (Bury) 11, Eryk Motala (Bury) 9, Asim Hussain (Bury) 8, Lance McCabe (Stockport) 6.

U-19s: Reece Pollitt (A&T) 16.

Final Division 2 Team standings – Astley & Tyldesley 22.5, Bury 19.5, Stockport 12, Sheffield 6.

Referees – Ben Higham and Graham Lush.

In the Seniors (Division 1) match, Stockport’s Ben Higham rode to a 16 points maximum score with Jake Read losing only to his  Stockport team mate Terry Norman in heat 3. A&T’s Reece Pollitt started the night as the GP series leader and he rode steadily to score 12 points to secure the series.

Bury’s Kris Ramsden was in 2nd place at the start of the evening, but he was another absentee. Stockport took their third successive team win of the season to draw level with Bury on match points and take the Division 1 title on race points.

Manchester League Div 1 match result (top 5 scorers only count to their team’s total)

Stockport 65 Bury 37 Astley & Tyldesley 12

Seniors: Ben Higham (Stockport) 16, Jake Read (Stockport) 15, Terry Norman (Stockport) 13, Reece Pollitt (A&T) 12, Mat Lush (Stockport) 12, Kaysar Mohammedi (Bury) 11, Devon Campbell (Stockport) 9, Eryk Motala (Bury) 9, Louis Turner (Bury) 7, Lance McCabe (Stockport) 5, Asim Hussain (Bury) 5, Alan Plimley (Bury) 5.

Referee – Graham Lush.


Final Division 1 Team standings – Stockport 15 (238), Bury 15 (230), Astley & Tyldesley 6.

Final Grand Prix standings:

U-10s: John White (A&T) 80, Jack Murray (A&T) 72, Duncan Whalley (Bury) 71.

U-13s: Tom Whitwam (Sheffield) 89, Louis Turner (Bury) 81, Matt Snell (A&T) 74.

U-16s: Devon Campbell (Stockport) 82, Michael Preston (Stockport) 75, Ciaran Collins (A&T) 69.

U-19s: Reece Pollitt (A&T) 91, Danny Taylor (Bury) 16.

Seniors: Reece Pollitt (A&T) 79, Ben Higham (Stockport) 74, Terry Norman (Stockport) 71.