CLUB NEWS: Brandon set for biggest ever Coventry Juniors Final

Brandon Bees stage the biggest Cycle Speedway meeting held in the Rugby area for nearly half a century this Sunday (11th September) with its promotion of the Coventry Junior Individual Finals, commencing at 2pm.

The finals, sponsored by Inspire Insurance, will go-ahead at the newly revived Cycle Speedway track in Bretford Playing Fields, Brandon Road, Bretford (CV23 OLA) after an astonishing revival of the sport locally.

Organisers and volunteers have rescued the formerly defunct track, returned it to pristine condition and originated the highly successful Saturday morning `Dirt Bike Club`, which has seen youngsters flocking to the venue to take up the sport.

Staged at its picturesque location, and spurred on by the national boom in cycling and Britain’s cycling medal successes at the recent Olympic Games, it has attracted youngsters from Rugby and its surrounding villages – and as far afield as Hinckley, Stratford Upon Avon and Daventry.

Cycle Speedway, which originated on the bombsites of London after the second world war, was known as “the bombsite sport”. It boomed after the war and 50 years ago every district of every town and village – including scores in Rugby – had a Cycle Speedway team.

Brandon Track

Brandon Track

However, now the sport has matured and tracks today are purpose built, many in local authority sports centre and parks. It retains its proud heritage with its motor speedway namesake but today’s top riders see themselves more as super fit cyclists rather than attempting to copy motor Speedway racers.

International matches are now commonplace, female racing has been introduced and the sport is governed by British Cycling. The Coventry club, who engineered the Brandon revival, are booming and are one of the top clubs in the sport.

Now the organisers are staging this Sunday`s Coventry Junior Finals day at the Brandon Bees track as a celebration of the successful revival of the sport in East Warwickshire and to cope with the ever increasing demand.

Riders will race for glory at Under 8s, Under 11 and Under 16s to determine the age group Coventry champions. In all, 36 riders will be in action, the most junior riders to challenge for local junior honours since the heyday of the sport.

Admission to the Coventry finals is free. Organisers are urging local Speedway fans, cyclists of different cycle sports, former Cycle Speedway riders and local residents to turn out to support all the young riders this Sunday.

Special spectator facilities are being hired-in and made available for this Sundays events, including mobile catering, toilets and a public address system. A souvenir programme will be on sale and bouncy castle will also be in place to add to the fun.

Andy Drewett, one of the organisers, said: “The revival of the Brandon Bees team and racing at Bretford Playing Fields has surpassed our highest hopes. We are all set for a splendid afternoons sport this Sunday on the occasion of the first Coventry junior finals for many years”.


U8s | Sunday 11th September 2016 at 2pm

  • 1 Shivam Patel (Coventry)
  • 2 Alex Cunningham (Coventry)
  • 3 Jude Willcockson (Coventry)
  • 4 Finn Yousen (Coventry)
  • 5 Alex Jones (Coventry)
  • 6 Autumn Smith (Coventry)
  • 7 Alfie Brown (Coventry)
  • 8 Lincoln Collins (Brandon Bees)
  • 9 Leo Brown (Coventry)
  • 10 Ruary Hughes (Coventry)
  • 11 Louis Westhead (Brandon Bees)
  • 12 Dylan Savage (Brandon Bees)


U11s | Sunday 11th September 2016 at 3pm


  • 1 Jacob Slezak (Coventry)
  • 2 Harry Hibbert (Coventry)
  • 3 Lewis Middleton (Brandon Bees)
  • 4 James Morris (Coventry)
  • 5 Jonny Middleton (Brandon Bees)
  • 6 Lewis Fry (Coventry)
  • 7 Wyatt Jacobs (Coventry)
  • 8 Thomas Pearson (Brandon Bees)
  • 9 Adam Butler (Brandon Bees)
  • 10 Liam Jones (Coventry)
  • 11 Jack Reynolds (Coventry)
  • 12 Sarah Butler (Brandon Bees)


U16 | Sunday 11th September 2016 at 4pm

  • 1 Jacob Clifford (Coventry)
  • 2 Amy Baynes (Brandon Bees)
  • 3 Owen Gregory (Brandon Bees)
  • 4 James Bridge-Wilkinson (Coventry)
  • 5 Jimmy Wassall (Coventry)
  • 6 Lee Gregory (Brandon Bees)
  • 7 Ollie Morris (Coventry)
  • 8 Ben Wells (Coventry)
  • 9 To be announced
  • 10 Tom Savage (Brandon Bees)
  • 11 Cameron Gill (Brandon Bees)
  • 12 Sammi Marsh (Coventry)