MATCH REPORT: A&T take Manchester League GP Round 1

Astley & Tyldesley staged Round 1 of the Manchester League Grand Prix series on a warm, sunny Wednesday evening.

First up were the U10s and Bury’s Kaci Neath top scored, losing only to A&T’s Duncan Whalley in heat 5.

A&T’s Emily Burgess and Bury’s Harry Radford continued their rivalry in the U13s match, each suffering an exclusion in their two races together (for gate and chopping respectively). This let in A&T’s John White to top the scores in this match with 13 points.

Stockport’s Devon Campbell top scored with 14 points in the u-16 event, with A&T’s Reece Pollitt racing to a 16 points maximum in the U19s category.

Defending champions Astley & Tyldesley ran out winners in the Division 2 match (for U10s, U13s, U16s and U19s).

Astley & Tyldesley 69, Bury 51, Stockport 44

U10s: Kaci Neath (Bury) 15, Frank White (A&T) 14, Duncan Whalley (A&T) 14, Fraser Brundrett (A&T) 11, Aiden Green (A&T) 10, Rowan Neath (Bury) 6, Lucy Grantham (A&T) 6, Sabrina Evans (A&T) 4.

U13s: John White (A&T) 13, Emily Burgess (A&T) 12, Harry Radford (Bury) 12, Josh Neath (Bury) 11, Charlie Burgess (A&T) 11, Jack Murray (A&T) 8, Charlie Thacker (Bury) 7, Hermoine Whalley (Bury) 4.

U16s: Devon Campbell (Stockport) 14, Michael Preston (Stockport) 11, Louis Wright (Stockport) 11, Lance McCabe (Stockport) 8, Ben Forshaw (A&T) 5.

U19s: Reece Pollitt (A&T) 16, Ciaran Collins (A&T) 12, Eryk Motala (Bury) 6.

Referee – Chas Whalley (Astley & Tyldesley).

Twelve riders turned out for the Senior match. Stockport’s Jake Read top scored losing only to Reece Pollitt in heat 4, who won in the fastest time of the night, 41.50 seconds.

Astley & Tyldesley won the Division 1 match, for seniors, with last year’s winners Stockport finishing 2nd.

Astley & Tyldesley 50, Stockport 40, Sheffield 19

Seniors: Jake Read (Stockport) 15, Reece Pollitt (A&T) 14, Ben Higham (Stockport) 14, Mark Grantham (A&T) 11, Mick Knowles (A&T) 11, Louis Wright (Stockport) 11, Adam Watson (Sheffield) 10, Laura Watson (Sheffield) 9, Ciaran Collins (A&T) 7, Emily Burgess (A&T) 7, Gareth Paine (A&T) 5, Mark Brundrett (A&T) 4.

Referee – Chas Whalley (Astley & Tyldesley).