MATCH REPORT: British Under 10s Club Championship

Hull Cycle Speedway Club staged the British Under 10 Club Championship last Sunday with the backing of the Co-operative Funeralcare.  On a fine sunny day two semi-finals were held to decide the teams who would compete in the major and minor finals.

In the minor final Ipswich took the honours  with a strong performance scoring 52 points with Keaton Ripper and Kristian Mitchell dropping just a single point each.  Wednesfield came second with 44 points thanks to a very enthusiastic performance.  Hull were third with 40 points and fought valiantly but could not quite make up for being a rider short due to a late injury.  Charlie Wade rode unbeaten in both the semi-final and the minor final for Hull.

In the main final reigning champions Kesgrave continued their dominance of this competition to take their fifth successive title with 56 points.  Oliver Wright was unbeaten all day and received strong support from all his side including Oliver Reynolds who won his three rides in the final.  There was a close battle for second place with Astley& Tyldesley just edging out Sheffield with 42 points to 38.  Ben Dickenson and Emily Burgess led the way for Astley with Katie Adams being the pick of the Sheffield side.  Leicester were in fourth place with 22 points but their mainly female side did not really get the rub of the green and will surely fare better in the future, with Rory Hayward looking a good prospect.

Referees Darren Kent and Graham Lush both conducted the meetings in fine style and the presentations were made by representatives of the Co-operative Funeralcare, the chairman of the East Riding of Yorkshire Pat O’Neil and her consort James Holbrough and the Town Mayor of Hessle David Prattley.

Editor: Well done Hull CSC from 33/18 News on a great day of Cycle Speedway.