MATCH REPORT: Manchester League round 1 at Astley

The Manchester League season opened with Round 1 staged under the Astley & Tyldesley floodlights on Wednesday evening. Light drizzle greeted the riders, on a fast track.

A&T’s Duncan Whalley raced to a 16 points maximum in the u-10s match, with team mate Frank White dropping his one point to Duncan. A&T’s John White rode to a full score in the u-13s event. The u-16 and u-19 categories were combined, with scores adjusted afterwards. Bury’s Eryk Motala top scored in this match,with 14 points, after adjustment. Defending champions, Astley & Tyldesley rode to a convincing win in the Division 2 (junior) match.

Manchester League Division 2 result (top 5 scorers only from each team count to team total)
Astley & Tyldesley 74 Bury 37 Stockport 10
U-10s: Duncan Whalley (A&T) 16, Frank White (A&T) 15, Aiden Green (A&T) 14, Fraser Brundrett (A&T) 13, Tom Beeley (A&T) 11, Lewis Skitterall (A&T) 11,Oscar Belt (A&T) 10, Tom Dunphy (Bury) 10, Freddy Warn (A&T) 7, Sabrina Evans (A&T) 5, Aliesha Green (A&T) 4, Myles Grantham (A&T) 4.
U-13s: John White (A&T) 16, Charlie Burgess (A&T) 13, Harry Radford (Bury) 13, Tom Morrissey (A&T) 12, Lucy Grantham (A&T) 10, Chloe Warn (A&T) 6.
U-16s: Max Evans (A&T) 11, Michael Preston (Stockport) 10.
U-19s: Eryk Motala (Bury) 14, Ciaran Collins (A&T) 8.
Referees – Catherine White and Chas Whalley.

Reece Pollitt raced to a fine 16 points maximum in the Division 1 (senior) match. The highlight was an excellent pass over team mate Steve Harris to win heat 7. Stockport’s Jake Read impressed, losing only to Pollitt in heat 15, while team mate Ben Higham had three wins and a gate exclusion in heat 6.
Astley & Tyldesley took an emphatic victory in the Division 1 (senior) match.

Manchester League Division 1 result (top 5 scorers only from each team count to team total)
Astley & Tyldesley 63 Stockport 27 Bury 19 Sheffield 13
Seniors: Reece Pollitt (A&T) 16, Jake Read (Stockport) 15, Adam Watson (Sheffield) 13, Kyle Holland (A&T) 13, Steve Harris (A&T) 13, Ben Higham (Stockport) 12, Kris Ramsden (Bury) 11, Max Evans (A&T) 11, Mick Knowles (A&T) 10, Mark Grantham (A&T) 8, Eryk Motala (Bury) 8, Mark Brundrett (A&T) 7, Ciaran Collins (A&T) 0.
Referee – Chas Whalley.