MATCH REPORT: Women’s Battle of Britain & HSBC UK Elite Grand Prix

Astley & Tyldesley hosted this year’s final round of the Women’s Battle of Britain and HSBC UK Elite Grand Prix series at Gin Pit on Sunday afternoon. Fortunately the overnight rain stopped in mid morning and held off for the rest of the day, and a good turn out of riders enjoyed an excellent day’s racing. British Cycling officials Heather Bamforth (North West Region Vice Chair), Andy Farr (Head of Business Planning & Transformation), Rob Pickering (Lead Cycling Delivery Manager North) made the presentation of awards to the riders and thoroughly enjoyed the day’s racing.
The South & South Wales team won the Battle of Britain match, with the Midlands team pipping the North & Scotland (winners of the previous round) for second place, to ensure that this year’s title went to the South & South Wales. Pleasingly, all teams fielded a full team of riders, with the North & Scotland blooding three new riders at this level. Birmingham’s Rebekah Humphries was the meeting’s top scorer, for the Midlands team.

Women’s Battle of Britain – Round 4 result

South & South Wales 69 Midlands 61 North & Scotland 56 South East & Eastern 53

South & South Wales: Sandra Tamborska 15, Maddie Saunders 13 (3), Lauren Hookway 13 (1), Nataleigh Goulden 12 (1), Shannon Tucker 10 (1), Rachel Lammin 6 (1).
Midlands: Rebekah Humphries 21, Lizzie Rigley 15 (3), Georgia Burt 13, Megan Burt 5, Honey Whitehead 4, Sammi Marsh 1.
North & Scotland: Emily Burgess 18 (1), Laura Watson 17, Niamh Morton 12 (1), Lacey Ackroyd 5, Lyla Peoples 2, Lucy Grantham 2.
South East & Eastern: Lily Parr 17, Phoebe Hammond 15 (1), Amberley Gant 13 (2), Ella Case 8 (2).

Referee – Darren Kent.

Women’s Battle of Britain – Overall Series result
South & South Wales 7 pts North & Scotland 6 pts Midlands 5 pts South East & Eastern 2 pts.

The final round of the HSBC UK Elite Grand Prix series followed. Astley & Tyldesley’s British Women’s Champion Emily Burgess started the day as the series leader and she rode superbly to jointly top score in the qualifiers, along with Leicester’s Lizzie Rigley. In the Grand Prix ‘A’ Final, Poole’s Sandra Tamborska lined up off grid 1, with Rigley on grid 2, Burgess on 3 and Exeter’s Lauren Hookway on grid 4. A crisp gate from Burgess saw her lead into the first bend and she comfortably held on to clinch the HSBC UK Elite British Women’s Grand Prix title, winning in the fastest time of the day, 42.85 seconds. Tamborska was runner-up, with Rigley in third place. The first three women finished in the same order in the overall series.

Women’s HSBC UK Elite Grand Prix – Round 4

Qualifying scores:
Lizzie Rigley (Leicester) 19, Emily Burgess (A&T) 19, Sandra Tamborska (Poole) 18, Lauren Hookway (Exeter) 17, Rebekah Humphries (Birmingham) 17, Maddie Saunders (Poole) 15, Laura Watson (Sheffield) 13, Niamh Morton (Sheffield) 13, Rachel Lamming (Horspath) 12, Lily Parr (Kesgrave) 12, Georgia Burt (Wednesfield) 10, Phoebe Hammond (Kesgrave) 0.

‘A’ Final: 1st Emily Burgess (Astley & Tyldesley), 2nd Sandra Tamborska (Poole), 3rd Lizzie Rigley (Leicester), 4th Lauren Hookway (Exeter).
‘B’ Final: 1st Maddie Saunders (Poole), 2nd Rebekah Humphries (Birmingham), 3rd Laura Watson (Sheffield), 4th Niamh Morton (Sheffield).
‘C’ Final: 1st Lily Parr (Kesgrave), 2nd Georgia Burt (Wednesfield), 3rd Rachel Lamming (Horspath).

Referee – Mark Winwood.

Women’s HSBC UK Elite Grand Prix – Overall Series top 3 placings
1st Emily Burgess (Astley & Tyldesley) 50 GP pts, 2nd Sandra Tamborska (Poole) 40, 3rd Lizzie Rigley (Leicester) 36.

The top five riders in the overall Elite GP series. Photo courtesy of Corrie Burgess.

In the Women’s Intermediate Grand Prix Round, Poole’s Nataleigh Goulden raced unbeaten in the Qualifiers, before winning the Intermediate Grand Prix ‘A’ Final and overall Intermediate series.

Women’s Intermediate Grand Prix – Round 4

Qualifying scores:
Nataleigh Goulden (Poole) 20, Daisy Sherwood (Poole) 19, Shannon Tucker (Exeter) 18, Ella Case (Kesgrave) 17, Amberley Case (Kesgrave) 16, Honey Whitehead (Leicester) 14, Lucy Grantham (Astley & Tyldesley) 14, Lacey Ackroyd (Sheffield) 14, Harriet Belt (Astley & Tyldesley) 12, Lyla Peoples (Fife) 9.

A’ Final: 1st Nataleigh Goulden (Poole), 2nd Daisy Sherwood (Poole), 3rd Ella Case (Kesgrave), 4th Shannon Tucker (Exeter).
‘B’ Final: 1st Amberley Gant (Kesgrave), 2nd Honey Whitehead (Leicester), 3rd Lucy Grantham (Astley & Tyldesley), 4th Lacey Ackroyd (Sheffield).
‘C’ Final: 1st Harriet Belt (Astley & Tyldesley), 2nd Lyla Peoples (Fife).

Referee – Mark Winwood.

Women’s Intermediate Grand Prix – Overall Series top 3 placings
1st Nataleigh Goulden (Poole), 2nd Daisy Sherwood (Poole), 3rd Shannon Tucker (Exeter).