MATCH REPORT: A&T clinch Northern League Division 3 title

Astley & Tyldesley are the Northern League Division 3 champions for the 8th successive season! A&T’s youngsters rode to a convincing 102-53 win over West Yorkshire side, Heckmondwike, at a cool and blustery Gin Pit on Sunday afternoon. Josh Pilkington and Frank White both raced to 16 points maximums in the u-10s and u-13s matches respectively. Levi Edwards and Alex Lawless were both unbeaten by an opponent in the u-10s match. Best for Heckmondwike were the Lebrasse brothers, Charlie and George, who scored 13 points each in the u-10s and u-13s matches respectively.

North & Scotland League Division 3 match result

Astley & Tyldesley 102 Heckmondwike 53.

A&T: Josh Pilkington 16, Frank White 16, Levi Edwards 15, Alex Lawless 14, Amelia Harrison-Jones 10, Thomas Smith 10, Elijah Rechembei 10, Lincoln Davies 6, Chloe Bassett 5.

Heckmondwike: Charlie Lebrasse 13, George Lebrasse 13, Joseph Green 11, Elliott Long 10, Fraser Burno 6.

Referee – Chaz Whalley.

The Astley & Tyldesley team with the Northern League Division 3 trophy. Photo courtesy of Sarah Lawless.

Just two of A&T’s regular Division 2 squad – Caspar Ellis and Frank White – were available for the Division 2 match that followed. Full credit to the seven Division 3 riders who filled the missing places. Heckmondwike fielded a team predominantly of veteran riders and rode to an emphatic 93-57 win. 11 year old Frank White and first year rider Caspar Ellis both won races and kept the visitors on their toes throughout the match, with Levi Edwards putting in a determined performance throughout. Darren Kent rode to a 20 points maximum and recorded the fastest time of the day, 44.53 seconds, when winning heat 15. Pat Beacock raced unbeaten in his two races.

North & Scotland League Division 2 match result

Astley & Tyldesley 57 Heckmondwike 93.

A&T: Frank White 16, Caspar Ellis 15, Levi Edwards 9, Josh Pilkington 6, Amelia Harrison-Jones 3, Thomas Smith 3, Alex Lawless 2, Chloe Bassett 2, Elijah Rechembei 1.

Heckmondwike: Darren Kent 20, Justin Naylor 16 (2), Tony Lebrasse 16 (1), Jack Lebrasse 13 (2), Stuart Hardaker 12 (1), Declan Lindsey 9 (2), Pat Beacock 7 (1).

Referee – Chaz Whalley.