CLUB NEWS: Newport hold Annual Awards Evening

Newport Cycle Speedway Club held their annual awards evening at the Ringland labour club to celebrate a fine 2022.

The club won the league and cup double, the juniors finished in 5th place in the uk , and also in 5th place in British club championships, showing the massive improvement in the club post lockdown.

The major award winners were as follows.

Rider of the year: Mark Carmichael.
Junior rider of the year: Luie Lewis.
Best newcomer of the year: Jake Solomon.
Most improved rider of the year: Kalem Martin.
Club person of the year: Sadie George.
Junior riders rider of the year: Jake Solomon.
Senior riders rider of the year: Dan Bock.
Special merit awards to Kaitlin Jenkins and Ellie George.

Momentos were presented to club sponsors Dig it landscapes.
The 90 people in attendance were treated to a great evening topped off by club members Mark Carmichael and Callum Goward doing a great singing show.

Mark Carmichael receiving his Rider of the year award from Newport East Labour MP Jessica Morden and club secretary Colin Simmons.