CLUB NEWS: A&T Club Presentation Success

A&T Cover

Words by Mike Hack, Photos courtesy of Owen Simcock

Astley & Tyldesley staged their 31st annual Club Presentation and Social event, in the function room at the Miners’ Welfare Club, on Sunday afternoon. Around 70 club members, family and friends attended the event. It followed a schedule of games, buffet, raffle, presentation of awards and speeches. The music and dancing were curtailed though, as members rushed home to watch the England football match.

The awards were presented by Claire Hannah, ITV Granada reporter and presenter, who has proved to be a great supporter of cycle speedway this year.

A&T won five league competitions this year, with each rider receiving either a trophy or a medal, from the respective leagues. Awards were presented for the various A&T club competitions held during the year. In all 99 rider awards were presented.

The annual special awards went to:

Duncan Whalley (Rider of the Year – Alan Farrell Memorial Cup);
Frank White (Young Rider of the Year – J. Fisher & Sons Cup);
Caspar Ellis (Best Newcomer – Rory Blackwell Trophy);
Josh Pilkington (Best Novice – North West Trophies Cup);
Levi Edwards (Most Improved Rider).

The A&T Club has long valued the work of its volunteers, and this year saw awards presented to 39 volunteers. Heather Whalley received the Ron Hack Memorial Cup, for winning the Volunteer of the Year award.

Rider of the Year Duncan Whalley receives the Alan Farrell Memorial Cup from Clare Hannah

Volunteer of the Year award winner Heather Whalley receives the Ron Hack Memorial Cup from Clare Hannah